The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Martin Luther King in Chicago

Today “The Chicago Files” turns to a more serious topic than those normally posted.

It is “Martin Luther King Day” here in the US.  To most Canadians, Dr. Martin Luther King is an iconic figure that fought for the civil rights of African-Americans.  Not a lot is said or written about him in Canada (at least to my knowledge), but yet there is a collective understanding among Canadians that what Dr. King stood for was right and true.  Perhaps this is a simplistic way of putting it on my part, but there is a reason for it.  I see it as a nod of agreement; yes, there is no need to explain that which is correct.

Dr. King was born on January 15, 1929, in Atlanta, GA.  The picture above was taken when Dr. King visited Chicago in 1966.  He came to Chicago often to assist local leaders in the civil rights movement.

I am in awe of the work that Dr. King accomplished.  Each time I hear his famous, “I Have a Dream” speech that he delivered from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial on August 28, 1963 in Washington, DC, I get goosebumps and a lump in my throat.  His words resonate so deeply, and I cannot help but be so incredibly grateful for his astonishingly courageous and honorable spirit.  If you have never heard this speech, I encourage you to please look it up; it is one of the most powerful speeches I have ever heard.

To me, as a Canadian living in Chicago, I am reminded every day how vitally important it is to show each person I meet that we are all beings cut from the same cosmic cloth, as it were.  By that I mean we come from the same source; we are all connected whether we can wrap our human brains around this, I’m not so sure.  The feeling, ah yes, the feeling that comes from simply acting in kindness, compassion, and treating everyone with respect and dignity.  As I (unfortunately) on occasion bear witness to a word or an act that does not represent any of these things, it only strengthens my conviction to look for ways to show them even more.  Sometimes it is simply opening a door for someone, or a smile to a passerby, which is sometimes looked upon with suspicion; sad, but true.

This does not discourage me in anyway, shape, or smile *grin*.  It merely invigorates my resolve to show people, as Dr. King so eloquently noted and I paraphrase here: that individuals not be judged on the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.

I hope today, wherever you inhabit the planet, that you will take pause and focus your awareness on that which is so becoming of you, as a fellow human being, to remember your connectedness with all who share the planet with you.

Martin Luther King I have a dream speech

 

17 thoughts on “Dr. Martin Luther King Day – Peace, Freedom, & Smiles

  1. Austin says:

    Very well written. I tweeted it and even followed you on Twitter. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      To say you made my day is an understatement! Thank YOU, Austin! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Austin says:

        Happy Monday! 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        And Happy MLK day, too! 🙂

        Like

  2. Michelle Oram says:

    Every morning on Q107, they do “listomania”. Today’s list was the top Martin Luther King quotes. Very powerful!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh isn’t that cool!! I am so glad to hear about that! 🙂

      Like

  3. Kavi says:

    Thank you for sharing this. Great post!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thanks Kavi! I really appreciate that!! 🙂

      Like

  4. Dr. Martin Luther King has always been one of my heroes. I am proud to honor him this day. ~ Dennis

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Me too, Dennis. I have always felt that he literally epitomized the absolute best of people. I too am proud to honor him today. Thank you so much for stopping by, Dennis. Cher xo

      Like

  5. weavergrace says:

    Thank you for your post. You moved me to collect thoughts about what Dr. King means to me, as well as marches on Washington, DC, freedom, income disparity…

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate it. As a Canadian, I didn’t grow up with a lot of information about Dr. King. But I feel his influence so strongly here in Chicago. Thank you again! cher

      Like

  6. This is a very touching post my friend. Especially your concluding comment, which could be a poster. Bless you for sharing this touching article from your heart.
    Hugs, Gina xo

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Gina! I feel that Dr. King’s words should not be forgotten. A poster would be wonderful! What a brilliant idea! I think perhaps I’ll write that sentence on a big piece of paper and stick it on the fridge; for future bumper sticker possibilities! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  7. I love it! Although my car doesn’t have any, I’d buy YOUR bumper sticker. I especially enjoy your phrasing of “focus your awareness on that which is so becoming of you”. It’s such a lovely way to describe the lovely countenance shining from every face who remembers their innate connectedness. Go Cher! Let’s hear it for side businesses (or at least inspiring fridge notes).

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless! That is so kind of you to say. Yes, thank you, Gina, sometimes when I write I surprise myself, almost as if I am receiving it, if that makes sense. I will often go back, reread what I wrote and think, wow, that’s pretty good (in recognition that it comes to me as a gift)! *LOL* Well, I am what could be called an ‘aspiring writer’. It is my dream to do so. I’m just gently letting the Universe unfold as it should (or rather, trying to do that)! Yeay for fridge notes! 🙂 Gina, thank YOU so much! My Monday morning mood is uplifted about 10 degrees which, in this frost zone is hugely welcomed! I can see the steam rising off Lake Michigan and the water is ice-covered; not something that usually happens, even in Winter! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

swo8

Music means something

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, holy stuff and harmless sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

