The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Lake Michigan February 12 2014

About a month ago I posted a picture of Lake Michigan at sunrise.  This morning I took a picture just before sunrise.   The scene is like an ever-changing watercolor painting.  The picture I posted last month had pinks and purples adorning the sky.  Today, it is much more oranges and light blue-grey hues.  Please click on the picture for the full effect!

What a wonder, this natural painting!  Have a terrific day!!

31 thoughts on “Wonderful Wednesday Watercolor

  1. Cracking capture Cher, I love the tones and movement in the sky 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh thank you so much, Ed! I think I’m rather embarrassed as my pictures are taken by my phone and certainly not the best quality. I do love capturing the changing scenes and comparing them! Yes, the tones and movement are lovely!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Nothing to be embarrassed about Cher, I know a few Pro’s who shoot alot of stuff with their phones. With the amount of new tech these days, it gets harder to tell the difference. I’ve done it myself, and trust me, there is nothing wrong with the quality 🙂

        Eddie

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, thank you, Ed! I really appreciate your kind words. You are such an incredibly talented photographer, and I just used my little phone for this pic! *LOL* You just made my day; thank you! Cher xo

        Like

    2. susie says:

      Beautiful picture and I thank you for sharing! Do you frame these lovely photo’s? If not I hope that you will.!
      You have a great day as well Cher and this goes for each and every day !!

      Like

      1. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you so much, Susie! No, I haven’t framed any (yet); however, perhaps I should! It’s lovely to see the every-changing scene! I hope you are well and have a great day (and every day too)! Cher xo

        Like

  2. Stunning! We’re currently being lashed by floods of torrential rain, so I’m a little bit envious of your tranquil morning.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh Veronica! I am so sorry to hear that. Then I shall send you lots of virtual sun and calm energy! Please be safe!! Cher xo

      Like

  3. Such a gorgeous sunrise! Isn’t it magical ‘just before sunrise’? I love it. And that’s today? Well at least my part of the world is getting there eventually, but I just checked again – still dark. Thanks for sharing your sunshiny self to help brighten my morning Cher! May your entire day be delightful! Hugs xo Gina

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      My dear Gina, thank you!! Let’s get your part of the world filled with light!! Yes, I just took it this morning. Oh yes, the time just before sunrise is magical! You can feel it! It’s such a wonderment! Thank you, my friend! I hope you have a fantastic day! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. Cher, I have an interesting request for you this morning. First two questions: Are you a Horse person, one who appreciates their beauty? Have you yet discovered the amazing photography at WhiskyTangoFoxtrot? Because yesterday I left a first comment on her recent masterpiece and it was a bit long – like you and I enjoy sharing – and now no one else is commenting! If you’re interested I encourage you to bring your sunshiny self over to her blog and who knows? You just might feel inspired to comment! xo Gina
        http://whiskeytangofoxtrot4.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/golden-boy/

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Hi Gina! LOVE horses, bless them! I love all animals, and isn’t it interesting that we are in the Year of the Horse according to the Chinese New Year! I shall get over there and take a peek! Thank you so much for telling me about it. Keep your comments coming on any post anywhere, Gina! The world needs to hear your sharing words. I’m on my way there now!! Thank you, dear friend! Cher xo

        Like

  4. Sunrises and sunsets – love them! Great capture 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much! I just used my phone but this little picture is nothing in comparison to your outstanding work! Cher xo

      Like

  5. nofrillswrapping says:

    So many thoughts run through my mind when I look at that photo.

    God saying goodnight with beautiful washes of color while we the humans respond with tiny flashes of our own colors.

    God the Rock Star beginning the show, humans waving lighters in the audience.

    Lamp lights — God’s night light to humans.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Love it! I absolutely love your description. Bless you for that, my dear! I am humbled by the beauty of this every-changing ‘show’!! Thank you so much for your lovely words. They are perfect! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. nofrillswrapping says:

        Thank you. I love sunrises and sunsets. If I could ever afford to build my own house, I’d have plenty of huge windows facing east and west. Can you imagine sitting in a room where the only light comes from a fireplace and just outside of its glow you sit in a big plump chair watching the sunset? A view that changes every single day, a living painting.

        Excuse my long wind about this, but looking at the sky is right up there with looking at trees and water for me. No two people can occupy the same place at the same time so whenever you look at the sky, you are seeing it in a way no one else can or ever will. It’s as if God has\is creating this indescribable piece of ever changing art for each one us personally, yet all together at the same time. It amazes and awes me.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I absolutely love your description! It is perfect! Talk about a wonderful way to describe our personal art and experiences! Thank YOU so much! Please, comment anytime! I am honored to have you share!!! Cher xo

        Like

  6. belsbror says:

    What can I say? Breathtaking! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, dear belsbror, thank you so much! It resonates with me a sense of calmness and gentle energy. Cher xo

      Like

      1. belsbror says:

        That’s the best thing about clouds: they relieve us of our stress even for a while. 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        They really do, don’t they? I love clouds; I love your photos and writing about the Cloud Farm! Over Lake Michigan this morning the clouds are cirrus; light, airy, and whispy! Cher xo

        Like

  7. Poetsmith says:

    Beautiful capture of sunrise, Cher. Love the warm glowing orange colour. Thanks.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you for your kind words! Yes, I love the orange, too! It really is a warmth that is much needed in chilly Chicago. And to see the sun come up over the water; ah, bliss! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Poetsmith says:

        Keep warm. Hope the sun will shine for you! 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you! And to you as well!! And coincidentally enough, the sun is shining as I type this! I think you sent it along. Muchly appreciated! Cher xo

        Like

      3. Poetsmith says:

        Lovely!! 🙂 Iris

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you, Iris!!! Cher xo

        Like

  8. sunshinebright says:

    Beautiful enough to enlarge and hang on the wall, Cher. You’re a terrific photographer in addition to your other talents! The photo is so much better when I enlarged it – I was able to see the street lights so much better; the stars in the sky aren’t visible, but the street lamps were the stars transplanted from the sky onto the earth!!!

    Like

  9. Joseph Nebus says:

    I’ve seen the sunset on Lake Michigan, part of my heritage as a new citizen of Michigan, but I haven’t been in a spot to see the sunrise on it yet.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Well how about I shall continue to stay guard at the sunrise position, and you at the sunset! 🙂 I have not been in a spot to see the sunset!!! 🙂

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

