The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Canadian Hockey boards

I dedicate this post to the men’s and women’s Canadian Olympic Hockey teams who both won a gold medal in hockey at the Sochi 2014 Olympics!  I am thrilled and happy for Canada!  My Facebook page is filled with Canadian pride this Sunday morning, as the men just won their medal-winning game!  It fills me with such great joy to have an entire nation so incredibly proud of these athletes. (Thanks to Womanfreebies.ca and Marilyn for posting the above picture on Facebook).

Canada Hockey wins gold medal

(Thanks to mapleleafs.com and Michelle for posting the above picture on Facebook).

Canada Hockey wins gold medal women

Truly, hockey is ‘our’ game! The passion for hockey reaches from coast-to-coast in the Great White North.  I know here in the US there is an underlying envy to our maple leaf madness of hockey.  Be that as it may, the US has phenomenal athletes in so many sports, that we, as Canadians, don’t mind one bit that our hockey crazed country remains supreme in Olympic hockey.  The US men’s Olympic Hockey team did not win a medal at this Olympic games.  The women’s Olympic Hockey Team won the Silver medal.  However, as at the writing of this post, the US had 28 medals which is wonderful.  (Thanks to www.voanews.com for this picture of the women’s Canadian Olympic Hockey team).

It’s a golden day, the Canadian way!!

19 thoughts on “It’s Canada’s Game, and it’s all Gold!

  1. seeker says:

    It feels good. It does….

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Yes, it does, doesn’t it? *biggest grin* 🙂 Cher xo

      Like

  2. Congrats on your win and I went to a “Timmies” yesterday and they had not heard of it being called that here 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you for the good wishes! Really, they didn’t know about the name, “Timmies”? Most interesting. I wonder how the nickname did not get transferred south! *LOL* Even my American husband is sitting here wondering! 😉 Cher xo

      Like

      1. The counter girl said mostly she hears “Tim Ho’s” which is not as charming as Timmies.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Now THAT is a new one on me! I will let my fellow Canucks know about this! I am positive they will be surprised! *LOL*

        Like

      3. Joseph Nebus says:

        I’m still too new to territories in the United States which have Tim Horton’s. I don’t feel that we have a close enough relationship for me to start nicknaming them Timmie’s or the like. No; Tim Horton’s it’ll be until we know one another better.

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* I quite agree with your stance on this particular subject! *grin* However, I must admit that I rather suspect once you become a “well-acquainted” customer, the idea of calling Tim Hortons anything but “Timmies” will seem quite foreign to you *pun intended*! Cher xo

        Like

  3. Congrats on your win my friend! !! Love and blessings! Neeky

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, my dear! Love and blessings to you!! Cher xo

      Like

  4. sachemspeaks says:

    They played hard and deserve our thanks for a good, never give up, good sport game, we will get you the next time. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you my dear friend! Yes, all in good sport! I am also so very proud of the US Olympic team! Truly some outstanding athletes! All deserve our praise! Cher xo

      Like

  5. Don says:

    Congrats to your country – proud moment.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Don! It truly is a proud moment for Canada! Jonathan Toews is the captain of the Chicago Blackhawks; he is from Winnipeg, Manitoba, and played on the Canadian Olympic Hockey team. He’s a star in both countries, to be sure. I’m very proud today! Cher xo

      Like

  6. Cheers to all the talented and hard-playing athletes!! Thanks Cher for this fun post celebrating all our athletes, and for sure… Go Canada! 😀 xo hugs, Gina

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Gina! They are such an inspiring bunch, aren’t they? Go Canada indeed! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* I concur, David!! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

The Gay Stepdad

Mincing My Way Through Life

Done Dreaming

saving the best for now

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

thewanderingdarlings

The Wandering Darlings

A walk and a lark

Getting some fresh air and exploring the world

Ruth Daly

Author

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

ScaleitSimple

Simple and natural living

