The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Gun Pic at Library

Well here’s one for the books my friends.  The above picture was taken as I was entering a building.  Was the building a courthouse? No.  Perhaps I was walking into a special government office? Alas, I was not.

Ladies and gentlemen, this sign awaits visitors who are entering the……………wait for it……..

L I B R A R Y

Yes, a library.  A building of books, barcodes, and the former dewey decimal system.   Bewilderment is a rather appropriate descriptor for my feelings about this.  A little taken aback?  Yes, I certainly was and saddened by the very fact the library felt it necessary to post such a ‘warning’, as it were.

“Pursuant to 430 ILCS 66/65” is the caption under the sign.  There is nothing else posted, so I took the liberty of looking up this caption.  What I found was a piece of legislation issued by the State of Illinois.  It was a lengthy document but in a nutshell it notes that you cannot ‘knowingly’ bring a firearm into a list of building types and spaces; libraries was subsection 18.

If you have been visiting The Chicago Files for a while now, you will already be aware I love to write about all kinds of observations and findings here in Chicago, from the silly to the serious; clearly, this post is the latter.

I’ll step up onto my soapbox for a moment:  I pray for a world that does not require such signage when one is checking out a book on kindness, kites, or kittens.  I pray for a world that allows one to calmly enter a building to borrow a DVD on “How to Ballroom Dance”, or “Build Your Own Bookshelf”.  I pray for a world when one can attend a lecture about poetry writing without worrying that the person next to me is packing more than a nervous sweat when called upon to recite their Haiku.  I pray for a world that allows tiny kiddos to sit cross-legged in a circle listening to Miss Mary share exciting tales of space travel and purple dinosaurs, without apprehension of mayhem.

Yes, these are the things I think about when I am greeted by a glass door bearing a gun picture with a line through it.

These are the points I ponder for a world in which the intentions of those for peace will understand.

14 thoughts on “Wednesday Weaponry Warning?

  1. I agree what a sad state of affairs
    😦

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I agree; it’s tough especially coming from Canada where I’ve never seen this before. Things need to change here. Cher xo

      Like

  2. Seeing a sign like that in front of my library, here in quiet, non-violent areas of Palm Beach county in South Florida, sure would take me aback! My library is a peaceful place in which to meander in between the many aisles of shelves of books, and, to think there might be a “pistol-packing” person there, doing the same thing as I, would send me out of there very quickly!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Every day I see things that are different here from than that of life in Canada. This is a big one, I’m afraid. The library you describe in your area is exactly what I picture a library to be. Here, it’s a dichotomy to be sure. I too love to walk along the aisles and peacefully take my time pulling books off the shelves to find new and exciting information and stories.

      Thank you as always for your excellent words; I know we are on the same ‘page’, aren’t we? Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. I seems like it, Cher. I so enjoy your little “tidbits” of Chicago – a place that I have only “seen” through the people rushing around in the O’Hare terminal while I and my now deceased husband were doing a “layover” while waiting for our connecting flight to South Florida. Long time ago, Cher; long time ago. Hugs back. Carol

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, bless you, dear Carol! This is a magnificent city, to be sure. There are just so many things I find challenging from that which I grew up with if you know what I mean. Big hugs, Carol! cher xo

        Like

  3. Your wise prayers here have ignited my own passion for peace, and brought bright tears to the surface. Such beautiful writing my friend, and such a poignant plea for peace. Yes may little ones (of all ages) enjoy life without fear of imminent mayhem. I especially enjoyed your writing of the person next to you packing no more than a sweat upon presenting an upcoming Haiku. Love it all. And you my friend. Thank you for sharing your loving heart in everything you do and observe. Here’s to many more peaceful visits to libraries everywhere (and may such signs be irrelevant and no longer be needed). xo Loving hugs of admiration, Gina

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Gina! I think the only thing I feel I can do is pray. It just seems so wrong to have to worry about weapons in places such as libraries. Oh, thank you for your wonderful YOU!!! Loving hugs of admiration right back at you, dear! Cher xo

      Like

  4. Poetsmith says:

    Yes, it’s alarming to see that kind of sign in front of the library, Cher. Your heartfelt prayers are so much needed. This post is really an eye opener and I’ll join you in prayers. Love to you my friend. 🙂

    Like

  5. georgeforfun says:

    Reblogged this on georgeforfun and commented:
    Sadly, I thought when I left the military and government law enforcement agencies, I’d never have to worry about forgetting my weapon or vest again. It hurts me to admit, I worry more in some cities than others. As you say, libraries? In these days, even libraries aren’t totally safe or sacred or neutral ground from those who choose the other side of decency, law&order, or respect for human life. I cry sometimes when I see innocent children as collateral damage. It must stop, but DC and politicians won’t do the right thing, due to $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    Like

  6. fozzbloglife says:

    I have nominated you for the Wonderful Team Readership Award- http://fozzyfitness.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/wonderful-team-member-readership-award/
    You don’t have to accept this award just pass and know that the nomination was a mark of respect for your support and friendship

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      My dear, thank you so very much! That is wonderful and I am extremely grateful and honored. Bless you for this! I cannot tell you how much I appreciate it! Thank you so much! Blessings and big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  7. It is a sad thing to realize the dangers around us in this time. I, too, pray for peace and love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Mary, it is great to hear from you! Oh yes, as a Canadian I have to be honest in saying I had never, ever seen anything like this before. Quite frankly, I was overwhelmed by it. Praying for peace and love is a good start to change. Thank you, Mary! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

The Gay Stepdad

Mincing My Way Through Life

Done Dreaming

saving the best for now

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

thewanderingdarlings

The Wandering Darlings

A walk and a lark

Getting some fresh air and exploring the world

Ruth Daly

Author

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

