The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Long Beach, April 2014

Hello everyone! I missed you all!  Here is the first of what I feel will be numerous posts regarding our recent trip to Los Angeles and Long Beach.

I wanted to start the post line-up with a little ditty about Long Beach.  Long Beach is about an hour (by train) from Los Angeles.  We decided to stay outside of LA to have a coastal, relaxing place to return to each day after pounding the LA pavement! I am so glad we stayed in Long Beach!

The first surprise I wanted to share with you is how incredibly friendly people are in Long Beach and LA! Yes, tis true.  I am afraid my preconceived notions about this area were completely false; I thought we would be surrounded by noses in high places and well-heeled inhabitants everywhere! Not so, to my utter shock.  Now, I cannot say the same can be said for Beverly Hills et al.  We did not travel to that area, so my experiences relate to LA and LB!

The photo you see above is Long Beach at approximately 6:00 p.m.  Long Beach is a shipping port; I have never seen so many massive and numerous shipping containers!  Apparently Long Beach is a hub for the Pacific Rim and the goods it sells to us here in North America.  Large barges and sea-going vessels lined up just like a drive-thru at Tim Hortons on a busy Saturday morning!

I am in love with Long Beach.  The easy-going nature of the locals, as well as the unbelievable weather make for a magnificent combination.  The weather! Oh, I don’t think I’ve ever experienced such perfect conditions! The weather in that area, according to those who study that sort of thing, has been rated one of the best climates in the United States for its consistent, year-round temperatures.  It is usually about 75 degrees Fahrenheit (or 24 degrees Celsius) with a cool, gentle breeze! Yes, lovely warm weather and a cool breeze!

Long Beach 2 April, 2014

It was rather interesting to see people in jeans and jackets when we were dressed in summer clothing!  The mornings were on the cool side (to the locals, not to us); we grinned to ourselves when we noticed people in jackets and jeans whilst we were decked out in shorts and sandals!

Next post I’ll be writing about a wonderful ship:  the Queen Mary! What a beauty she is, and we had quite the adventure aboard this noble piece of floating history.  Please stay tuned!  All aboard!!!!

43 thoughts on “Lovely Long Beach!!!

  1. They don’t really know what chilly is do they? LOL Looking forward to seeing more of your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* No, they sure don’t! I laughed thinking that here I am, a Canadian, moved to Chicago, chilly in the winter, but not as cold as where I’m from; and then, here I am in California where it’s even warmer! For me, it was tropical! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Awh, thank you! I am looking forward to sharing! Cher xo

      Like

  2. longandluxe says:

    Hi Cher!

    We missed you too! Thank you for sharing your experience and gorgeous photos 🙂

    Peace always,

    Allison

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Allison! Awh, bless you my dear! Thank you so much for your (always) kind words! I cannot wait to share more! We had a fantastic trip, and the Queen Mary was one of the jewels of the trip! With big hugs and gratitude, Cher xo

      Like

  3. Sounds like you had a lovely time at Long Beach… 🙂 I remember one year we went to Cyprus in December.. the locals there were in boots and thick jackets.. We were in shorts and sandals too… 🙂 amazing how one gets acclimatized to their environment.. the 18 to 20’s degrees out there for their winter was like our English Summer.. 😉 but with NO rain.. lol…
    Glad you have enjoyed..
    Hugs Sue xox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      We did, Sue! Isn’t it interesting how we humans acclimatize! I am certain a lot of locals thought we were ‘loco’ *grin* Ah, the ‘no rain’ bit must have been very enjoyable!! Thank you, Sue! I can’t wait to share more (and there is more!!) Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  4. Your comment about clothing made me laugh. We are so used to the heat of Australia and North Cyprus that it takes temperatures in the mid- to high 20s C (about 85-90F) for us to don summer clothes. But you see the English and people from Russia and other cold parts togged out in shorts and singlets and you know they’re visitors because they think it’s hot and we think it’s, well, quite nice! Glad you had a good time on your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh isn’t that funny! *LOL* I think we would have qualified for ‘those’ visitors! *grin* Thank you so much! We had great fun and I can’t wait to share more! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  5. andy1076 says:

    24 Celsius year round??? I want to move already lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Andy, I’m there!!! *LOL* cher xo

      Like

      1. andy1076 says:

        lol! screw this cold I’m in! XD

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awesome, Andy! *LMAO*

        Like

  6. Glad to see you back! What a great place to visit, and for it to be relatively local to you too… and thanks for adding the stunning photographs. Another great post as always…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      You always say the nicest things and I am so grateful! Thank you my dear!! Yes, it is about a 4 hour flight and well worth it! I hope you will have the opportunity to check back and read more posts about my California dreaming! 🙂 Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  7. Lovely post, Cher. Interesting about the differences in temp. Here in South Florida, it has to be around 60-65 for us to wear long pants instead of shorts. That doesn’t happen very often at all. I was in LA once, in the month of April, and it was around 70-75 on a lovely sunny day, but we went to the Crystal Palace I think it was called, across the avenue from where our hotel was, and we stayed after sundown. It was BBRRRR cold. And I didn’t have a jacket! Wow, was I uncomfortable. Never expected it to turn so cold at that time of year. Glad you had much better temps. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Meanderer says:

    The weather sounds wonderful. How nice that you found it to be friendlier than expected. Better that way round 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much for your comments! Oh yes, the weather was wonderful! And I was so pleasantly surprised at how friendly everyone was to us. It just goes to show (me) that preconceived notions are often very wrong! *grin* Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  9. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      We sure did! Thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Lorraine Emmerson says:

    Hi Cher & Ray. Your trip to Long Beach sounds wonderful. Those huge ship liners are amazing. We went to Sarnia once which is right on the shipping line from The St. Lawrence up to Montreal to the Atlantic Ocean. I loved watching the Ships, day dreaming wonder what’s on that ship, where is it going, away to far away lands. Quite romantic. Same with Airplanes. Looking forward to more Chicago Files XXX ttfn.

    Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2014 14:13:38 +0000 To: lemmerson60@hotmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Our Lorraine! We had such a wonderful time! Ah, that must have been amazing! Yes, it is so interesting to watch them and think about who/what/when/where, and why! *LOL* And what really made me smile is that the ship in and of itself looks huge; however, when a Carnival Cruise ship came near it, our poor little Queen Mary looked quite small in comparison! But there is no cruise ship that can hold a candle to our Scottish beauty I think! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  11. How wonderful Cher! I was smiling as I read that you encountered many friendly and nice people, as I was thinking ‘of course you would’. Like attracts like! So glad you had a wonderful time (and I totally ‘get’ the shorts and sandals thing! I’m sure they can spot us northerners!) Big hugs xo Gina

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless! Thank you as always, dear Gina, for your wonderful words! I was so incredibly amazed at how nice everyone was!! Yes, the shorts and sandals thing! *LOL* I see people looking at me like that in Chicago, let alone in LA! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Once a Canuck, always!!! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  12. Long live lines at Timmies!!! Unless I’m in one then move along 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hee! You’ve got that right, sister! *LOL*

      Like

  13. Bonnie says:

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and the follow..had to come see what the Chicago Files is all about, it’s one of my favorite cities! Then, I see your post about Long Beach and I am headed there soon for work! Fun little coincidences..happy travels wherever you may find yourself! – B

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Bonnie! Thank you so much for stopping by! Well isn’t that a nice little piece of synchronicity! I love it! Yes, as a Canadian living in Chicago, I write all about my experiences and perspectives about the “Windy City”. And having never been to Long Beach/LA, I had to take the Chicago Files on the road, as it were! I’ll be posting a few more California posts, and then CHItown will be back on the radar screen! Oh, lucky you, my dear! We miss Long Beach already! Please stop by anytime, and I am really looking forward to reading more on your blog, Bonnie! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. Bonnie says:

        Thank you so much!! I can’t wait to read about more CA stops..I am a CA girl…through and through, born and raised here! Fun to connect with you!!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Oh that is wonderful! My husband and I are absolutely in love with CA! Next we will do a little architectural tour of downtown LA! Please stop by The Chicago Files anytime; I promise to write about the deep dish pizza city soon! 🙂 Fun to connect with you as well! 🙂

        Like

  14. It is a lovely place, an unknown gem to many people visiting the LA area. I went to graduate school there and I hold fond memories of Long Beach. Nice post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Welcome and thank you so much! I felt that Long Beach resonated with me and my husband. We loved its easy-going atmosphere. I am glad to hear you have fond memories of it! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  15. alifemoment says:

    Wow a really nice trip, great, I really enjoyed reading this post, I look forward to read the next posts about your trip “Los Angeles and Long Beach” 🙂
    Alice

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you, Alice! That is so kind of you to say! Oh yes, we had a wonderful time! I was so taken aback at how nice everyone was! Combine that with the perfect weather and, wow! *LOL* Please stop by anytime! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. alifemoment says:

        You’re really kind 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, bless! Thank you, dear! Cher xo

        Like

  16. Gator Woman says:

    Loved living there!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it awesome? I fell in love with the place immediately! 🙂 No surprise though!! Cher xo

      Like

  17. Ray H says:

    I lived in Long Beach for 3 years, a great place. Thanks for the post, reminder of good memories~ 😀

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thanks Ray! You lucky guy for living there! Wonderful energy, weather, and just about everything else!! Thanks so much for stopping by! Please come by anytime! Cher xo

      Like

  18. Glad you had a good experience visiting So Cal!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Kitt! I absolutely LOVE it!! In fact, I wish I was there right now!!! 🙂 Cher xo

      Like

  19. Lovely photos, Cher. My husband spent a lot of time in LB. =)

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you for that! Oh did he? Lucky guy! I am enamored with LB!! 🙂 Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Maritime Mac

Go Explore

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

Las Vegas Photoblog

Capturing The Other Las Vegas

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

SHARING THE POEMS SO YOU'LL BE INSPIRED TO OWN..My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

