The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Full Moon Paddle Event

[photo courtesy of chicagopaddlecompany.com]

As you probably know (and depending where on the planet you find yourself at this very moment you may have already experienced this phenomenon) Friday, June 13th is also highlighted with a most rare occurrence:  a full moon!

This has not happened since 1919, nor will it happen again until the year 2049.

The photo above is an event that is taking place this evening here in Chicago.  It is called, “Friday Night Lights Full Moon Paddle Event”.  This evening the idea is to get on a board, paddle out into Lake Michigan, and, well, come back to shore…………..in the dark…………………by the light of the honey-colored moon.

night_owl6hxdetail1 (2)

[photo courtesy of forums.station.sony.com]

Far be it from me to put the kibosh on some ha ha, hee hee kind of fun.  I don’t know, is it just me or does the idea of standing up on a board with only the use of a paddle IN THE DARK bother anyone? I mean, what if the man in the moon decides enough is enough and turns the moon beam machine down to low? Where are you now? I’ll tell you where you are now………….you are in the middle of Lake Michigan about to become intimately acquainted with the night owls who are watching you fall into the drink!

moon-CST-0616.jpg

[photo courtesy of voices.suntimes.com]

Wait, I’ve got a solution! Instead of being sad or ‘blue’ whilst paddling about attempting to get out of the lake, why don’t you take part in being ‘blue’ BY the lake; here, I’ll show you what I mean:

Chicago Blues Festival Blues by the Lake city of chicago org

[photo courtesy of cityofchicago.org]

Yes, you too can be blue BY the lake instead of part OF said lake.  Tonight begins the Chicago Blues Festival; Blues By The Lake.

I shall leave it up to you; your choice.  Do you sink, swim, or sing?  These things only happen once in a blue moon!

42 thoughts on “The Friday File – 13th, full-moon….I know, let’s paddle!

  1. John says:

    I’ll stay on shore, please! Going to get my cam mounted on the tripod, and make an attempt at some good photos of the honeymoon. Honey Moon… Hmmmm

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I’m with ya, John! Shore it is! Oh, that will be great if you’d be willing to share some shots!! Honeymoon…………..Honey Moon indeed! *LOL* Cher xo

      Like

  2. Don says:

    I like the idea of paddling by the light of the moon, Cher. Sounds marvellous. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Don! I wish I had the nerve to try it! All I keep hearing in my head is the song, “By the light, of the silvery moon….” 🙂 🙂 🙂 Cher xo

      Like

      1. Don says:

        I like that 🙂

        Like

  3. nikibayard says:

    that’s it, i’m headed for the airport, on my way, see you next Friday 😉 any chance you can sling a rope around that big circle thing and hold it forever?
    xo

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hope I didn’t disappoint your Friday night cuppa? xoxo
      Awh, if but I could!!!

      Like

      1. nikibayard says:

        right there beside you 🙂 move over the kettle’s on!
        big hug
        (mr. fahey, he’s an interesting one isn’t he)

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Biggest grin!! 🙂 Cher xo

        Like

  4. Cool! Thanks for the reminder! I need to look up the time of moon rise tonight over our distant mountains. It should be spectacular. Don’t want to miss it!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Most welcome! Let’s see if you can get some shots of it! I’m going to try, as the moon will be over Lake Michigan! I’ll post if I get any good pics! cher xo

      Like

      1. I’ll check back with you!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Sounds great!! 🙂

        Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you my fellow Canuck! Thank you also for the follow! I am now following you and cannot wait to see/read more!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Thank you, Cher! I really enjoyed your post and am happy I “found” you. My husband and I lived near Chicago for a couple years before moving out to California. Have a soft spot for it!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, bless! Well likewise my dear! It’s a wonderful place! As a Canadian you know how different it is here; and how similar it is as well! California! If I may ask, what area are you in? Here are a couple of posts from our fairly recent trip to Long Beach/LA:

        http://wp.me/p4doQv-gQ

        http://wp.me/p4doQv-hn

        http://wp.me/p4doQv-hR

        We are absolutely enamored with LA/Long Beach! I felt a huge connection with The Queen Mary; strange, really, but it was as if I ‘knew’ the ship, if that makes sense! 🙂

        Like

      3. Long Beach is awesome. We’re located in northern California – the San Francisco Bay Area… but my husband sometimes travels to LA on business and usually stays in Long Beach. I’ll definitely check out your links. Thanks!

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, northern Cali! Very cool indeed! Yes, we spent most days in LA but stayed in LB (sounds like I am talking in code: *LOL*) Oh, thank you for checking them out! Cher xo

        Like

  5. ps – yes, the Queen Mary is amazing, and I DO know what you mean.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *grin* I kind of a had feeling you would! 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Scary thought, Cher – paddling on the lake without any light. Almost like “up the creek without a paddle” type of thing. I’m sure if I were there with you, I’d probably be on land, enjoying the concert!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Carol! I guess I’m not the extreme adventurous sort! I like what you wrote about the “up the creek…”! Very good, Carol! *LOL* Yes, I think being a ‘shore sticker’ is much better!! Cher xo

      Like

  7. Lorraine Emmerson says:

    Hey, Cher, I heard about the moon today, here they referred to it as a phenomenon “Yellow moon”, last sighted in 2000 not to be seen again till 2046 or something like that/?? I did go outside about 10 minutes ago and cloudy, so no Friday the 13th ” Yellow/Honeymoon” to see (ha, ha). Probably a disappointment to all the Biker’s riding through town today, yesterday, all weekend to Port Dover, hhhmmm, now that would make a good story for you. We had some fun there eh Cher, filthy water, which is now really cleaned up, and Long Points strong current, nice but very dangerous. Almost rips off your swimming trunks. Enjoy the Jazz, sounds fun.
    Keep up the good reading for me, miss you Dearie. 😁 Love you both. XX Lorraine
    ps: it is also The Antique Bike Show @ The Paris Fairgrounds, all weekend & Fathers Day. Zowwie, I will stick home Sunday with Hubby & kidlets, wearing my ear plugs.

    Date: Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:32:30 +0000
    To: lemmerson60@hotmail.com

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dearie! Oh no, it was cloudy? That’s a shame. We sure did! Port Dover was so much fun!! I remember those currents!! Yes, you have to hold onto your shorts tightly in that current! *LOL* Awh, bless you Our Lorraine! We miss you too!! Sounds like a plan about staying home! Hugs to you and Happy Father’s Day to Our Don!! Lots of love, Cher xo

      Like

  8. I like your moon. I took photos of mine here in Cleveland, Ohio

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Barbara! Thank you! I am wondering how the moon looked from locations all over the world! How did your view look? Cher xo

      Like

      1. Cher, it was so bright that it was almost like the sun. Such a beautiful night. A gift to us all. Hugs, Barbara

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, bless! It certainly was a gift to us all, dear Barbara!! 🙂 Hugs, Cher xo

        Like

      3. Thank you. It was so bright and big and a gift. Hugs, Barbara

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        It sure was, Barbara! Hugs, Cher xo

        Like

  9. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m sure the Blues Festival would be great and definitely less dangerous than the paddle. I like the idea of the paddling, but this year, on another great lake I live near, Ontario, the water is still too cold that I’d never want to risk falling in. I assume Lake Michigan must be as cold.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Phil, you are totally correct! Because of the ‘cold’ winter we had here, Lake Michigan is much cooler than it normally is at this time of year. Yes, I’m with you; stay on the shore and smile and wave! *LOL* Cher xo

      Like

  10. Poetsmith says:

    Wow, what a description – honey coloured moon! Actually, over here, it was a beautiful silvery coloured full moon – very bright. Was driving back after dinner by the beach and noticed this round moon shining so brilliantly. Sounds like you are having great fun this weekend with the blues festival. Have a fabulous time …, Cher. 🙂 Love, Iris.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Iris! Actually, I wish I could take credit for the honey colored moon! Apparently that is what it’s called when the color is orangeish! Oh wow, the moon sounds beautiful as a silvery color! Lovely!!! Thank you, dear Iris! I hope you are having a wonderful weekend! Love, Cher xo

      Like

  11. Just checking back with you. Can you believe it? I nodded off in front of the TV for the full moon. It would have been spectacular coming up behind “our” mountains. I caught it the next night and pretended it was full and took some crummy photos not worth publishing! Did you see it?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh no! Really? Bah!!! I’m so sorry about that! Yes, I did see it but my photos didn’t do it justice *LOL* You made me laugh because the next night I tried more photos thinking the same thing! *LOL*

      Like

      1. Pics were much blackness with a fuzzy white dot. Not my best photographic efforts.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Mine are basically orange dots! *LOL*

        Like

      3. I have a nice full moon photo in my archives. Will be posting it next week. 🙂

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        I’ll be looking for it! 🙂

        Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

