The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

bottled-smoke-art-by-jim-dingilian-9

Photo courtesy of [twistersifter.com]

Here at The Chicago Files we endeavor to entertain, inspire, and perhaps even bring the odd question mark to loom over your head.

Today’s post (if my made-up calculations are correct) will elicit all three factors in one post! Ah, and you thought a message in a bottle was intriguing (so do I, to be perfectly honest)!

The above photo shows the work of the sensationally talented ‘smoke’ artist named Jim Dingilian.  Jim’s work has a magical quality to it. His smokey showcases capture scenes of suburban decay.  Jim seizes smoke in order to capitulate the desecration of today’s modern suburban lifestyle.  Despite the rather dismal aspect to it, Jim Dingilian’s art demonstrates beauty from deterioration.   He starts with the most simplistic of tools, and from there creates sensational smoke art.  Let’s spy on Jim for a moment to see how he does this:

bottled-smoke-art-by-jim-dingilian-8

[photo courtesy of twistedsifter.com]

Jim starts his stunning art by enveloping the inside of a bottle with smoke.  He proceeds to utilize various tools placed on the end of dowels and erases portions of the smoke-stained glass, thereby leaving behind the art in a bottle.

Would you like to see some more spell-bounding smoke creations?  I thought you’d never ask:

bottled-smoke-art-by-jim-dingilian-12

[photos courtesy of twistedsifter.com]

More? Okay, feast thine eyes on this:

bottled-smoke-art-by-jim-dingilian-1

[photo courtesy of twistedsifter.com]

*Whistling…..looks at watch…………* Oh, hi! No, no, please, by all means, take your time.  I’ll just busy myself by thinking about products I would like to someday acquire.  Continue, I do not mind:

bottled-smoke-art-by-jim-dingilian-3

[photo courtesy of twistersifter.com]

These striking, smokey scenes of suburban decay are on display at the Packer Schopf Gallery here in Chicago.  This post leads me to beg the question, if we combine the ‘message in a bottle’ and the ‘smoke art in a bottle’ into one, would you get the message?

 

68 thoughts on “The Friday File…….Where there’s smoke there’s…………art?

  1. Mjollnir says:

    Screw the art, think of the fun you’d have emptying all those bottles! Seriously, these are amazing creations 😀

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LMAO* Good one! Well, they had to empty the bottles somehow to let the art ‘flow’! *grin* Cheers, mate! Cher xo

      Like

      1. pndrgn99 says:

        I never did find a basic comment button so I may be inserting myself in the middle of a conversation. If so I apologize. I love the bottle art. Getting the different shades of color from white to almost black and making the details so fine is an incredible talent.
        I also wanted to thank you for reading some of my work.
        Alexander

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Hi and thanks so much for your comments! It is amazing work, isn’t it? And thank YOU for your work; I shall be delighted to look at more soon and am now following you! Hugs, Cher xo

        Like

  2. Most unusual, Cher. Great choice of post. Never would have thought art could be formed with smoke! Where did you find out about this artist and his work? Did you know about him before you visited the museum? Most definitely “got the message.”

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Carol! I actually haven’t got to the museum yet, but once again I seemed to have found this almost without looking! Ah, I knew you’d get the message! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. I took another look at Jim’s artwork. Just had to. It is so unusual. He must have endless patience, besides the talent. His work reminds me of a photograph negative. First, he has the dark of the soot from the smoke, and then he has to carve out the “picture” with his dowel tools by removing the soot and the results are those amazing pictures! Unbelievable. I hope you get a chance to see his actual work at the museum. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It is quite something, isn’t it? And I thought, what if he makes a ‘smudging’ mistake? What does he do to correct it? Ah, yes, like a photograph negative! What a wonderful comparison! I had never thought of that! I am planning to take a little trip to the gallery to see it for myself! Hugs, Cher xo

        Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      David, isn’t it just? I am amazed and astounded at this man’s abilities. It’s really quite an incredible feat, don’t you think? Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. People have so much talent. I’m in awe.

        Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Is it ever, John! I am blown away by the talent, and I’m going to visit the museum soon! Shall report back! Cher xo

      Like

  3. Don says:

    Cher, I’m completely mesmerized. Amazing. I can’t even begin to imagine the kind of artistic skill needed to do this. Absolutely wonderful.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Don! Isn’t this an incredible talent? I honestly cannot even fathom being able to create such unique pieces of art. I’m in awe! But then again, I am in awe of your work, too! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  4. Wow – what brilliant artwork. When I was in China, I got a perfume bottle with exquisite scenery painted inside the bottle, very delicate, very detailed. We saw the artists at work and they had tiny, tiny paintbrushes which were set at an angle to do the painting.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Mo, I can’t even imagine what skills it would take to paint inside a perfume bottle! It’s like magic! I can barely sometimes figure out how to open a perfume bottle, let alone create art in one! Hahahaha! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  5. Absolutely amazing! What a steady hand it must take to do this! Would love to see more of Jim’s work. (Another reason to visit Chicago! 🙂 ) Thank you for another “trip to a museum”, Cher!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it unreal? Yes, yet another reason to visit this terrific city! Oh, you are most welcome! I’ll take you on another museum trip in a post quite soon!!! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. Will look forward to it, Cher! 😀

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you!!! Cher xo

        Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    What an unusual talent. i’ve never seen anything like it. Very clever, indeed!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I have never seen anything like it either! When I came upon this artist, I was a bit taken aback. I had to look twice to see what I really thought I was seeing!!! Hugs, Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. lorriebowden says:

    I am completely blown away!!! So beautiful….so creative. Love it! Blessitude!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Me too, dear Lorrie! Incredible mind and artist! Blessitude indeed!! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. lorriebowden says:

        Hi Cher…I have been invited to a blog hop. You answer 4 questions and invite 3 other people. Would you be interested. ..? If so let me know and I will give you the particulars. ..have a great Sunday 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Hi dear Lorrie! Yes, that sounds like fun! I’m in! Have a great Sunday too! Thank you for thinking of me for this fun exercise! Cher xo

        Like

      3. lorriebowden says:

        Great!! I will let you know more about it really soon 🙂

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Excellent! I look forward to it, Lorrie! 🙂

        Like

      5. lorriebowden says:

        Hey Cher…I sent an email to the address on your site…I just want to make sure you got it 🙂 Thanks (if you did not can you email me from my contact page…that way I’ll get your address and send you the info) Thank you!!! 🙂 ❤

        Like

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        Hi Lorrie! Yes, I sure did and I thank you so much for including me! I’ll get my information to you by Friday! Thank you, my dear! Blessings, Cher xo

        Like

      7. lorriebowden says:

        Thank you Cher!! So glad you are excited to do this 🙂 Have a super Wednesday ❤

        Like

      8. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you, Lorrie! And to you as well, my dear! Cher xo

        Like

  8. Poetsmith says:

    Unique and creative art. Must be painstaking and precise. Such an interesting post you have shared, Cher. 🙂 Wish I could visit the gallery too! Love, Iris.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you, dear Iris! As I am utterly lacking in any artistic talent whatsoever, my appreciation for this art is also laden with fascination as well! Love, Cher xo

      Like

  9. Joseph Nebus says:

    I’d never imagined smoke art in a bottle like this. Wow; thanks.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I had never seen anything like this until I came upon this artist’s work. I think it is amazing! Cher xo

      Like

  10. nikibayard says:

    my mind is boggled!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it wild? Cher xo

      Like

  11. Gator Woman says:

    How extraordinarily beautiful~

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it amazing? I am in awe of this incredible talent! Cher xo

      Like

      1. seaangel4444 says:

        Me too! Cher xo

        Like

  12. Hi, I just awarded you another award. This time it’s the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out on http://susanneleist.wordpress.com If you choose to accept it, you have to share with 15 bloggers and tell 7 facts about yourself. You get to keep it either way and show it to everyone. Thanks, Susanne

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Susanne! Well thank you so much! I am so grateful and honored! Talk about appreciative! I sure am and you are so kind and thoughtful. Thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  13. Phil Taylor says:

    Wow! That’s amazing.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I thought so, too! I am going to try and get to the gallery and see them in ‘real time’! 🙂 Cher xo

      Like

      1. Phil Taylor says:

        That would be cool. : )

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I’ll take some pics and post them as an addendum kinda thing! 🙂

        Like

      3. Phil Taylor says:

        Cool. Looking forward to it!

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Thanks, Phil!! Perhaps I’ll come across some other interesting notables! Cher xo

        Like

  14. longandluxe says:

    !!! Love this, Cher! SO, so cool. Hope you are well 🙂 🙂 Have a beautiful rest of the week!

    Big love ~ Allison xx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless you dear Allison! Right back at you! Please let me know about your vacation! Big love to you, Cher xo

      Like

      1. longandluxe says:

        Cher, It is just beautiful here in OCNJ. By the sea. I have been meaning to ask you in fact, your screen name “seaangel4444” . . . is there significance to the 4444 around angels? I always think that!

        I’ve been thinking of you and all your good energy!

        Talk soon and big hugs ~ Allison xxx

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, that is absolutely fantastic, Allison! I am so glad to hear this but not surprised! Ah, you are an astute girl, my dear! Well you see, I love angels and also dolphins. Dolphins are sometimes referred to as, “angels of the sea” as they have been known to rescue humans in trouble.” So I have used the screen name, “seaangel” for a long time. The number “44” has always been my lucky number, so I double it to be, “4444”. There is significance to numbers; we’ll just have to chat about that sometime! Awh, bless! The good energy is flowing your way!! Big hugs my dear, and yes, talk soon! Cher xo

        Like

  15. deutschtrailer says:

    Woooow… Big thanks…:))

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Well thank YOU!! Isn’t it amazing work? Thank you for stopping by The Chicago Files! Please come back anytime! Cher xo

      Like

  16. Ronnie says:

    Sheer brilliance.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I think so too, Ronnie! Hard to fathom, isn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

      1. Ronnie says:

        Creating images as intricate as that on a flat surface would require a high level of skill. Doing it inside bottles is incredible.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        And I can do neither! *LOL* Ronnie, his work is at a gallery in Chicago; I am going to check it out sometime and I’ll definitely report back! Cher xo

        Like

  17. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    this is phenomenally incredible!! What stunning art! Wowsa

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It truly is, isn’t it? Thank you for your comments!! A pleasure! Cher xo

      Like

  18. laura kilty says:

    Wow! How amazing! Thanks for posting Cher.x

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Laura! Isn’t it something? cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it incredible, Cary? Amazing. Cher 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Maritime Mac

Go Explore

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

Las Vegas Photoblog

Capturing The Other Las Vegas

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

SHARING THE POEMS SO YOU'LL BE INSPIRED TO OWN..My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

