The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Pride and Joy

[photo courtesy of my wrist!]

Last Thursday, June 19th, I found myself strolling through Macy’s at lunchtime.  For me, this is a rather typical activity.  Except on this day.  As I rode the escalator to the lower level, there before me stood a group of men wearing, “Pride + Joy” shirts.  I was unaware that Macy’s had arranged for the Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus to perform during the lunch hour to start, “PRIDE at Macy’s”, to celebrate, “Pride Month”.

As I approached the floor, the collective voices of the choir filled the air.  And then, I started to tear-up.  As I listened to this wonderful choir sing hits from Broadway (tunes from over the past 10 years) I looked into the faces of each person.  What resonated so clearly and profoundly was the joy, happiness, and profound energy that each and every one of these dear souls emulated from the stage.  I could literally feel the devotion to their performance hovering in front of me.

Chicago Gay Men's Choir

I took the above photo but must apologize for not being able to get everyone in the shot!

Patrick Sinozich is the Artistic Director of the Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus.  He provided me with some information about this incredible group.

Patrick notes:

“As the largest LGBT performing arts organization in the Midwest, Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus (CGMC) creates musical experiences that entertain and enlighten, inspire change, and build community.  ‘Chicago’s Most Colorful Chorus’ has been an integral part of Chicago’s cultural and gay communities since 1983, entertaining audiences with innovative musical programming that blend traditional choral concerts, musical revues, original commissions, and full-length book musicals – all with our own unique twist.”

Kudos and gratitude to Patrick Sinozich for providing me with this information; thank you so much!

The Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus has a summer cabaret fundraiser where they will be providing patrons with two performances of, “Some Like It Hot”.  The first performance will be at The Laugh Factory here in Chicago on July 15th, and at Mayslake Peabody Estate in Oak Brook, Illinois on July 22nd.  If you are in our neck of the woods during this time, I encourage you to get tickets; this choir is splendid.  I don’t think I have ever witnessed a chorus that exuded more revelry than this wonderful group.  A huge thanks to the Chicago Gay Men’s Chorus for providing not only incredibly uplifting music, but for creating an essence of what it means to be passionate about who you are, and for exuding giving and kind hearts.

I also noticed their website, http://cgmc.org includes a section for Upcoming Events (and you can purchase tickets here as well).  This group has several recordings:  “Here We Come a-Caroling”, “Cool Yule”, and “CGMC’s Holiday CD Collection”.

 Ally Gay Rights

[photo courtesy of politComments.com]

Oh, and the bracelet that you see in this post adorning my wrist? Why, I am wearing it with much pride and joy! 🙂

53 thoughts on “Pride + Joy = Wonderful Spirit!

  1. I bet it was one of those real goose bump moments. I love those. Great post 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thanks my dear! Oh yes, it was most definitely one of those real goose bump moments! I cannot wait to attend another concert!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Lorraine Oram Emmerson says:

        Awesome, love hearing this kind of thing, no pun intended!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Hello there, Our Lorraine! *LOL* Indeed dearie indeed! They are terrific, bless them! Love, Cher xo

        Like

  2. andy1076 says:

    Cheers to proud diversity! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Yeay! I agree, Andy!! Cher xo

      Like

  3. What a treat… And I wish more would wear with Pride and Joy and be less discriminative in life.. Its so good you enjoyed.. I have gay friends of both sexes and I love that poster… 🙂 Brill post… xxx Sue .. Sorry I have been absent a while.. xox Hugs xxx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Sue! It is soooooo good to see you! Yes, I agree; I see people as souls and their energy is what I feel! I too wish more would simply accept everyone for who they are!! Wouldn’t that be wonderful! Big hugs and thanks, Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This almost had me tearing up. First, on a silly level, that someone actually lives in a city with a Macy’s to be visited during lunch ( I now live in central CO 🙂 ) And then for these beautiful men giving of themselves in such a positive manner. How lucky are we to witness such sense of spirit?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless dear Kimberly! Well it is very nice to stroll around Macy’s, I must say (I better not tell you have many Macy’s stores were have here!). Oh yes, it truly was an act of giving their loving energy and voices to allow those of us in their presence to share with them. Clearly, I felt honored, and you are right; witnessing that sense of spirit is a gift. Thank you, Kimberly! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  5. Michael says:

    I was one of those singers, and yes, it was with PRIDE and JOY I am able to be part of this amazing group! The experience was summed up for me by a guy from Russia who came up to us after singing in tears saying “Wonderful, amazing, I’m so happy. This would never be possible in my country and thank you for sharing”. Continued responses like yours make it all worth while. Glad you enjoyed it as much as we did.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Michael! Welcome, and thank you hugely for your sharing your wonderful energy and voice. Oh Michael, that guy from Russia must have been so overwhelmed and clearly he felt compelled to tell you such (and how the concert would not be possible in his country). Thank you, and I truly cannot wait to hear your chorus in concert again soon! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  6. What a great post – the choir sounds amazing! I really like the poster too. There’s been a lot of debate here about gay marriage, and for me equality means all people having exactly the same rights regardless of their sexual orientation. It’s pretty sImple!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Veronica! Oh yes, they are amazing! I am getting teared up right now just thinking about it! I like the poster, too. And yes, I 100% agree with you. Rather simple to us, isn’t it, Veronica? I am reminded of some photos I saw recently that were taken from space. Ah, the blue marble of a planet appears so utterly tiny from space. And yet, if people could only realize we are all living together on this little blue dot in a immeasurable universe; well, you get what I am saying! Cher xo

      Like

    2. Couldn’t agree more!

      Like

    3. Well said, couldn’t have put it any better!

      Like

  7. Don says:

    Just wonderful Cher. Moments like these fill us with hope and acceptance of one another. Seeing Michael’s comment it reminded me of watching Stephen Fry’s visit to Russia and what he encountered there – deeply tragic and so disturbing.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah bless! Thank you, dear Don! We have Brandon’s lovely comments on this post now as well. Thanks to both Michael and Brandon for their wonderful words. Don, I shall look for that Stephen Fry program. Cher xo

      Like

  8. Brandon says:

    I was one of those singers too…and just wanted to say thank you for your post! It really warmed my heart. I am so happy to have been able to share our joy of making music with you and everyone else that day and at all of our concerts. See you at the next concert!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Brandon! Well bless you and thank YOU for your generosity in sharing your wonderful energy and voice with others. I was absolutely honored to have experienced the synchronicity at Macy’s that day. I always speak from my heart, and I can tell that each and every one of the members of your chorus sing from your hearts, too.

      I am looking forward to seeing and hearing more wonderful pride + joy at the next concert! Cher xo

      Like

  9. lorriebowden says:

    Hi Cher. What a beautiful serendipitous event!! I love your post… I love all the comments. Makes me feel really good inside to hear so many people spreading love and oneness in our planet. And kudos to Macy’s for sponsoring such an amazing, important, uplifting event!! I am so happy that you found this experience…or that it found you!!! Much love to you Cher…I love your spirit 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Lorrie! Ah yes, it really was and I felt so much gratitude for it! Yes, I agree; when we can focus on the wonderful souls that truly make a positive difference in our world, it makes my heart sing (and the real singing I’ll leave up to people in this amazing group)! I was so happy that Macy’s sponsored this event as well! I think they should do this more often!! And to you, dear Lorrie!!! Thank YOU! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Nothing can beat the joy and energy of live singing. I would have loved to have been there. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh I quite agree, Brenda! It soothes the soul and lifts your spirit, doesn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

  11. Oh, wonderful post, Cher. And to top it all off, it was so surprising to read Michael’s and Brandon’s comments. You have truly embraced us all with your experience of their music. And yes, Kudos to Macy’s for having this great choir to perform in their store. If I were in Chicago, I most certainly would attend their next performance.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you, dear Carol! Yes, I loved Michael’s and Brandon’s comments. Their energy is incredible and I cannot wait to hear them in concert again soon! Yes, I was so happy that Macy’s had this awesome concert! I only wish they had sang even longer! *grin* Cher xo

      Like

      1. I know what you mean. When we enjoy something so much, we don’t want it to end – at least let it last a while longer, right?

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Absolutely! And this chorus was so awesome I wish they could have sang all afternoon! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  12. nikibayard says:

    yep, largely speaking, i think that we all have to give ourselves permission just to be our self! 🙂
    xxxx missing our Friday even coffee and sofa sessions

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I agree, Niki! Well I did my post on Thursday this week (usually try for Monday and Friday and sometimes an additional day). We’ll be back in business next week for several posts: Canada Day, 4th of July (Friday!). Big hugs my dear and get that cuppa ready! Cher xo

      Like

      1. nikibayard says:

        Hello Sweet-Heart 🙂 I was actually with a dear friend last night and still missed our Friday night session!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, bless!! That is so sweet! Don’t worry, we’ll be back in business this Friday (unless you are busy and then perhaps you’ll see the post next weekend!) xoxo

        Like

      3. nikibayard says:

        you are my Sea Angel 🙂
        Friday night I was by the sea 😉

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        HEE! Yeay, Niki!! Thank you! Cher xo

        Like

  13. Beautiful story! I hope this diversity and tolerance influence across the globe 🙂 Thank you for sharing it!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you so much! It was an honor to hear these beautiful souls sing! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Joseph! Cher xo

      Like

  14. Gator Woman says:

    Hi there Cher:
    Who should I contact to put this great picture, ” I Am An ALLY ” on ALL of my Blogs??

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Donna! You can certainly take it from my post if you’d like. I got it from politComments.com. Do you know how to copy and save it to your computer? If not, I’d be happy to send it to you! Cher xo

      Like

  15. Dr. Rex says:

    HI there, dear friend!! Just found this … I’m back home and back to the blogging world. Taking me a bit …. This is a reblog!! Thanks for pointing me that way!! Hugs … ❤ ….

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh my dear Horty! Thank you so much! Bless you! I just had such a lovely time listening to these wonderful singers that I thought you’d enjoy the post!! Big hugs my friend! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Dr. Rex says:

        Hugs back!! 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        🙂 🙂 🙂

        Like

  16. Dr. Rex says:

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    This is a post worth sharing … thanks for being an ALLY!!!

    Like

  17. Recently took some time out from writing and blogging, and only just catching up again… what a lovely and inspiring post to greet my return. We all find our own way to express ourselves, the ways in which we enjoy our lives, and the people we love, but it doesn’t mean we can’t appreciate and embrace the amazing diversity of choice in such things. Great post!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless you my dear and welcome back to the blogosphere! I missed you! Diversity is what this planet is and I love it!! Big hugs to you and thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  18. annetbell says:

    Could you resend me the nomination page for LOve and Kindness award you nominated me for in May? Sorry I was so slow in following through and now I can’t find it. . . . . . me bad. . . . . . 😎

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Anne! Yes, I’ll get it and resend!! No, not bad at all my dear! Cher xo

      Like

  19. pndrgn99 says:

    A great post, it is always amazing to me how much more intense and beautiful things are when we share them in person. Somehow when we stand together taking down fences I think it brings us all a little bit of tearfulness since we have lived with those fences between us for so long.
    Alexander

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Alexander! Thank you so much for your wonderful words. I completely agree with you. The fences should never, ever have existed in the first place, sadly enough. However, you are sooooo right; standing together truly does help in taking them down. Hugs and gratitude, Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

Wheelescapades

Tea, Tours and Escapades

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

