The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

I have always been fascinated by windows; in the literal sense, and in addition to looking through them.  Or, in some instances, imagining what is behind them.

Take stained glass, for instance.  It can be a magnificent piece of artwork in and of itself.

Stained Glass Tiffany Dome

– photo courtesy of http://chicago-architecture-jyoti.blogspot.com

This superlative gem is a Tiffany Stained Glass Dome located at the Chicago Cultural Center.  Note the astrological symbols embedded into the glass.  The first time I gazed at this wonderful window, I began to feel quite dizzy.  Not necessarily from its majestic wonder, but because it’s a dome, and located high in the Cultural Center sky!  This will put things into perspective:

Stained Glass Tiffany Dome 2

– photo courtesy of robsaker.com

Some stained glass is opaque; to me, this doesn’t appear to be very ‘stained’.  *grin*  I like beveled glass windows, too.  The glass distorts whatever is behind it, and thus the imagination begins.  What on earth is that wavy-looking creature staring at me?  It’s either a cow, monster, or a monster cow with a forked tongue!

Beveled Glass Door

– Photo courtesy of http://www.sanssoucie.com

Windows glow

– photo courtesy of max99x.com

Ah, the orange glow of a night-time window.  This fascinates me.  I think of magical villages from another time, place, or realm.  What is behind these windows?  I think the imagination is likened to be much more appealing than the reality of what’s veritably going on behind the scenes.

Speaking of windows (which I am, as you can tell), this leads me to discuss the intriguing, mixed bag of happenstance that I have surveyed whilst looking out our condo windows.

One lovely sunny afternoon, this gargantuan “Minion” came floating by my view:

Balloon over building August 29 2013

Have you seen the movie, “Despicable Me”?  If you have, you will no doubt recognize one of its stars meandering across the blue sky here in Chicago.

Less than two weeks ago, this colorful burst adorned my view:

Fireworks July 4, 2014

Ah, watching the graceful sailboats skim by is a like a dream:

Sailboats Lake Michigan

I have often described the view from our windows as an always-changing, ever-fascinating painting that allows a vast amount of emotions and perceptions to be experienced without leaving one’s abode!

Sunrise Lake Michigan 1

There’s that orange glow that I so love!

Sunrise Lake Michigan 2

This winter photo was pretty in pink!

My goodness, I was once witness to a glowing green object that literally zoomed across Lake Michigan!  Perhaps it was a meteor; I’ve never seen anything like it, and of course it occured in the glimmer of an eye!

I’ve seen a cavalcade of firetrucks and ambulances (32, to be exact; I counted) all lining the street due to a fire in a nearby highrise building.

To quote the iconic band, “Pink Floyd”, “A distance ship smoke on the horizon”; that too, I have observed.

I think I need a nap just writing about the myriad of window wonderment!

B0062P 0030

– photo courtesy of mothergoosesmiles.wordpress.com

I am most certainly against excess trash and the lack of many individuals who refuse to reuse, recycle, and keep our planet green.  Nonetheless, I must make a confession.  One of the most interesting performances I have witnessed out of the window thus far was a plastic bag on a Windy City blustery day.  As I watched this bag dance with almost precision-like swooping motions, I couldn’t help but ponder the question:  Where on earth did it learn to move like that in such rhythmic oscillation?  *grin*

I hope I have shed some window light on, and perhaps given a slightly new meaning to the phrase, “gazing out the window”.  An enlightened soul once said, “If a window of opportunity appears, don’t pull down the shade.”  I couldn’t agree more!

 

 

 

 

66 thoughts on “Gaze through the Wednesday Windows!!!!

  1. Scallywaif says:

    i wonder how i can get that stained glass winow in my metropad apartment? hmmmmm. 🙂 #awesome

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it amazing? Well it is $35 million bucks so for me, I think I could afford 1/2 square! *LOL* Cher xo

      Like

  2. andy1076 says:

    oh geez, cultural centre’s roof is messing with my vision, outside in or inside out? 0.o

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I know, right! You should see some people; they actually lay on the floor and just stare, up, up, up! *LOL* Not me, though. ;-P

      Like

      1. andy1076 says:

        uh huh, I’m sure you’re the one people talk about that stares for hours and hours without realizing it 😛

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Haha *looks around; looks at watch; realizes it’s time to stare out the window again* What? Oh, hi Andy, I didn’t see you here for a moment! ;-P xo

        Like

      3. andy1076 says:

        One of these days a security guard will tell you it’s time for closing 😛

        Guessing though that these are one of the cases where they build backwards from the outside in huh? kinda like a painting?

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        I think that is probably what they do, yes! My friend from VANCOUVER was visiting here last summer and insisted I take a photo while he did a cartwheel (or two) in that room with the dome! Hahaha ;-P

        Like

      5. andy1076 says:

        You could probably even do a juxtaposed photo of him holding it up lol

        Like

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        I should! Haha! 😉

        Like

      7. andy1076 says:

        Remember to post it! 🙂

        Like

      8. seaangel4444 says:

        Haha, I have to talk to my friend and see if he is coming back this way sometime to take even better pics! 🙂

        Like

      9. andy1076 says:

        There ya go! lol

        Like

      10. seaangel4444 says:

        He follows my blog, so I hope he reads these!! Cartwheels a la Cultural Center! ;-P You’d probably do that too, though!! xo

        Like

      11. andy1076 says:

        Eh I could never do the cartwheel 😛

        Like

      12. seaangel4444 says:

        I use to do cartwheels off of our picnic table when I was a kid! ;-P

        Like

      13. andy1076 says:

        Somehow I don’t doubt that lol 😛

        Like

      14. seaangel4444 says:

        Now I’d be in traction for a week if I did even one! ;-P My record was 22 in a row down the street! Hahaha

        Like

      15. andy1076 says:

        Is that cartwheeling out of control or intended? lol 😛

        Like

      16. seaangel4444 says:

        Haha, well it was when I was only 12 or something like that! No, it was me trying to set my own record! Um, or maybe it was out of control……………………….*twilight zone music…………………………….*

        Like

      17. andy1076 says:

        Yups! there we go, looks like you solved a mystery of your childhood past (Psycho dramatic shriek shriek) 😛

        Like

      18. seaangel4444 says:

        Yeah, and just to think, it all started with a stained glass dome!!! ;-P Haha

        Like

      19. andy1076 says:

        I’ll b e watching for the news 😛

        Like

      20. seaangel4444 says:

        Haha! Honestly, I couldn’t even do one cartwheel if you bet me ALL of the ice cream you have in that freezer of yours!!!!

        Like

      21. andy1076 says:

        oh I bet you still got it lol 😉

        Like

      22. seaangel4444 says:

        I honestly don’t! Hahaha! *Ouch even thinking about a cartwheel or even a half-cartwheel….whatever that is!*

        Like

  3. I like stained glass windows too. When we were in Paris in February, we visited the Sainte Chapelle, which has spectacular windows. I like your blue polythene bag too – it reminds me of that scene in American Beauty when Ricky talks to Jane about his videos and what he considers beautiful. It’s a terrific scene in a fantastic film – well worth taking a look if you if you haven’t seen it!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Veronica! I’ll have to take a look on the internet for Sainte Chapelle; merci! Oh I must be the only person on the planet who has not year seen that movie! I shall most definitely rent it! Thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  4. Poetsmith says:

    Lovely photos you have captured, Cher. The pattern on the stained glass dome is particularly pretty! Seems like you have much to observe from your window, so interesting. Thanks for sharing … 🙂 Love, Iris.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much, Iris! Isn’t the dome spectacular? If one is not expecting to see it, the mere site of it when entering that grand hall is quite overwhelming. As for these windows of ours, it certainly makes the telly seem rather boring! *grin* Love, Cher xo

      Like

  5. Really beautiful photos and a great post 😉

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much, Irene! Cher xo

      Like

  6. Don says:

    It’s hard to imagine the kind of giftedness that produces work like that. Absolutely beautiful. Always a treat to visit your posts Cher. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Don! Isn’t it amazing? Thank you! I too an in awe of the mind that creates such magnificent art. But then again, I am always in awe of your work, Don. Your sketches are incredible. Likewise, I’m sure! Cher xo

      Like

  7. Oooooo! I wanna go there! Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      What photos you could take!!! Come on over to CHItown!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. It’s on the list of things to do this year! That and Garrett’s Popcorn – OH DROOL!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* Here’s another Canadian goodie for you: Kernels Popcorn!! I can’t get that here, either, and I LOVE it!! Ah, culture and (pop)corn! 😉 Cher xo

        Like

      3. You really must try the Garrett’s that’s right there in Chicago 🙂 toodles

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Oh yes, I’ve had it and guess what? I don’t care for it that much! *LOL* I know, what is wrong with me? 😉 hehehehe Cher xo

        Like

  8. Fantastic work! Thanks for sharing…

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it incredible? Thank you as always!!! Cher xo

      Like

  9. Brett says:

    I like all your window shots and the related whimsy!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Brett! It is always a pleasure to see you stop by! I do appreciate your comments! Cher xo

      Like

  10. nikibayard says:

    oooo, so many comments here, not sure if there is room for more, budge up a bit guys 😉
    glass mania, me too, magnificent,
    it’s a wolf;)
    gosh your orange is well yes…. so orange… i am thinking that we carry it with us each and every day 🙂
    pull down the shades….. hmn, let’s not 😉
    kettle’s on, glad ur here
    Nx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah there she is! Gee, the kettle’s on, and it’s only Wednesday! Hahaha It’s quite something, isn’t it, Niki? The orange is inspirational, I think!! Please stop by on Friday, kettle boiling~~~~~~ Cher xo

      Like

      1. nikibayard says:

        YES, the ORANGE 🙂
        wednesday, yes, I missed my Sea Angel 🙂
        x
        x
        x

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Bless!! 🙂 Cher xo

        Like

  11. I love stained glass and stained glass windows. It sounds as if you have a wonderful perch to watch the antics of nature and humans. Hugs, Barbara

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh me too, dear Barbara! Why yes, I most certainly do! *LOL* I truly do feel as if it is a painting that morphs into all kinds of things and I simply have the good fortune of watching it unfold!! Thank you, Barbara!! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. It is definitely a fun blessing. Hugs, Barbara

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It truly is, Barbara!! Hugs, Cher xo

        Like

  12. John says:

    Great photos, love the lake sunset colors.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, John! I tell you, Lake Michigan is its own colorful painting!!! Cher xo

      Like

  13. Gator Woman says:

    Cher, these pictures are awesome!!!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Donna!!! Cher xo

      Like

  14. Beautiful windows, gorgeous views from the “windows on your world.” Of course, my favorite master of windows is Tiffany. Thanks so much for this delightful post!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you, dear Carol! Oh yes, Tiffany’s masterpieces are like no other, are they, Carol? It is a rather awe-inspiring experience to be in that room with the dome! And of course, looking for your zodiac sign can bring on some dizziness! 🙂 Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  15. So may delightful posts I get to enjoy catching up on since I’ve been away. Joy! I too don’t like plastic bags per se but one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen was a bag dancing and swirling in the circling breezes of a downtown parking lot. I’d been having a particularly rough day and the mere sight of it brightened and lightened my heart. Thanks for sharing this lovely post. Even with a Pink Floyd quote! Yay! Hugs to you. xo Gina

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you so much, dear Gina! I sure did miss you! Your plastic bag dance sounds delightful! Isn’t it interesting how we can see something that is literally in front of us and appreciate the ‘meaning’ behind it! It certainly sounds like you did that day and the timing was perfect of course! Yes, I often think of that Pink Floyd line whenever I see the barges on the horizon line! Big hugs to you my dear! Cher xo

      Like

  16. laura kilty says:

    What a cool post Cher! Charming as well as informative, as always with you! The photos are great, as are your descriptions- I love the bag one. Makes me think of the American Beauty scene which I loved way back when. I definitely want to visit Chicago now- that stained glass dome is phenomenal! I would be one of those people lying on the floor looking up at it!!x

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, dear Laura! Your comments make me grin from ear-to-ear. Yes, I am going to have to see that movie!!! Well Chicago is gorgeous and so many precious gems to see and find! If you see the, “Chicago Trips with Zipz” post, you will note (albeit not the greatest photo) inside the Chicago Cultural Center whereby there is a shot of my shoe! Yep, I was laying on the floor looking up at the glass! hehehehe Come to Chicago, and take some photos from that angle! It’s brilliant!! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

photo roberts blog

ich zeige euch meine stadt wie ich sie sehe

Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Traci York, Writer

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

