The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

flashmatic

– photo courtesy of http://www.ideafinder.com/history/inventions/remotectl.htm

Well, well, what do we have here? Why, it’s the world’s first wireless television remote control!  The, “Flash-matic”, was invented right here in Chicago by Zenith Electronics engineer Eugene Polley in 1955.

There are literally endless jokes, quips and guffaws about ‘men and their remotes’; however, one need only take a glance at the above picture to see a lovely lady using the fantastic Flash-matic in a technique that can only be described as, ‘precision-like’.

Quite frankly, I can see an uncanny resemblance between the Flash-matic and a travel hair dyer!  Coincidence? There is a chance, but it’s ‘remote’!!!

28 thoughts on “Friday File………………….It’s FLASH-MATIC!

  1. andy1076 says:

    lol! wow! I had the knob channel selector, then the cord and was so happy! wasn’t long after I saw the remote and thought we finally came to the future XD

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I know, right? *LOL* It was almost space-age!!! ;-P

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I sure didn’t, Cindy! *LOL* Cher xo

      Like

  2. nikibayard says:

    πŸ™‚ here we are πŸ™‚ on the sofa x
    oh this made me gwaugh!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, there she is! I hear the kettle whistling!!! Thank you my dear! Cher xo

      Like

      1. nikibayard says:

        nope, not a single coffee last night πŸ˜‰
        too hot πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, a cold bevvy? Iced tea? πŸ™‚

        Like

      3. nikibayard says:

        πŸ˜‰ so American πŸ™‚
        90 mins of yoga everyday for 30
        water, lemon, honey & salt!
        hmn yum πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        *grin* Agreed on all accounts!! πŸ˜‰ Cher xo

        Like

  3. seeker says:

    You are hilairous. πŸ˜†

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Haha, why thank you, dear seeker!! πŸ˜‰ xoxo

      Like

  4. Don says:

    Now that’s quite something. I had no idea that early remote controls resembled hair dryers. The name “Flash-matic” has the ring of a washing-machine about it. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it just something, Don? I had no idea either! *LOL* Why yes, it does sound like a washing-machine, doesn’t it? Flash-matic – the latest washing-machine gizmo that gives your socks a wash in a flash; it’s auto-MATIC! πŸ˜‰ Silly me! Cher xo

      Like

  5. Lorraine Emmerson says:

    Today I learned who invented the Zenith Flash-matic telley Eugene Polley in 1955. Oh sure, me the sieve brain when it comes to names. Thanks for the info. Cher. Keep em coming. Love,Lorraine

    Date: Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:34:15 +0000 To: lemmerson60@hotmail.com

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hey there, dearie! Yes, an interesting (although perhaps little known) fact that is another Chicago invention! I sure will, thanks! Love, Cher xo

      Like

  6. I want one of those. I could “Elvis” the TV without the mess.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* You most certainly could, Bruce! I think I want one, too! Cher xo

      Like

  7. Great stuff, Cher. Where do you get all this wonderful info about Chicago? (Rhetorical question.) I don’t expect you to expose your “sources” but it’s a wonderful thing. Since reading your posts, I’m getting so informed! I had no idea when, and by whom, the remote came into commercial use. My father was a techno-bug, and he had to have radios, phonographs and TVs in every room, and my Mom had to find a quiet place in the house where she could read or knit. I think that’s where I get it from. I have a TV in every room, too, plus phones all over the house. I better not misplace a remote. What would we do without those “lazy person” gizmos? Thanks so much, Zenith Electronics engineer Eugene Polley! And thank you, Cher. xo

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, dear Carol! Thank you so much! Well to be honest, my “sources” are unknown to me, too! I seem to get an idea, observe something, or it just merely shows up! *LOL* Isn’t that neat that your father was a techno-bug. I’m sure he was very good at fixing and restoring electronics. Do you think he had a Flash-matic? I quite agree, my dear! I am so use to remotes now that the thought of going up to the tv to change the channel seems barbaric! How did that happen? *grin* Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. No, I don’t think he had a Flash-matic. I never remember a remote that looked like that. It is amazing how we let ourselves get so lazy, isn’t it?

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I had never seen anything like this, either. Oh yes, it is true Carol, isn’t it? We humans seem to always be looking for the ‘latest and greatest’ to make everything easier, including walking 10 feet to change the channel! *grin*

        Like

  8. I grew up with a black and white T.V. but we never had a remote. I never even heard of a remote back then. We had black and white longer than everyone else. I didn’t know The Wizard of Oz was in color and I couldn’t figure out why it was called the Emerald Road.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh Susanne, you made me laugh with your, “The Wizard of Oz” comment, because I bet there were lots of families that had the same thoughts! I am sure they thought, “What?” Why the Emerald Road? That doesn’t make sense whatsoever! πŸ™‚ Remote controls seem to be attached to people these days, don’t they? Cher xo

      Like

  9. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m surprised the woman in thecad isn’t pointing the remote at her husband.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hahahaha, Hhhmmmmm, “points” to ponder on a Tuesday a.m. I shall ruminate on that one; thanks, Phil!!! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Yes looks remarkably like my travel hair dryer to me… You always find the most remarkable subjects.. Thank you Cher.. I enjoyed catching up with a few of your posts today xox Hugs Sue

    Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

swo8

Music means something

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, holy stuff and harmless sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often β€’ Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

