The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Weird-laws-in-Illinois1-e1398869437261

–  photo courtesy of huffingtonpost.com

It’s Friday so let’s bring some levity to the week’s woes, shall we?

The “law”; there’s always lots of it and plenty to say about it.  Suppose for a moment, all of the draconian laws ever put into place were suddenly resurrected.  You, my dear reader, might be watching your Ps and Fs!  If you are in Joliet, Illinois, I’d watch my PRONUNCIATION of the city’s name, and if you are here in CHItown, be mindful of the nearest FIRE when eating your deep dish pizza!

Fire newspaper Circquedusoleil

– photo courtesy of cirquedusoleil.com

Let me get this straight:  there is a law that prevents one from eating food whilst in a building that is on fire, but is does not preclude BEING on fire? The picture above seems to serve as permission to also read a newspaper whilst on fire, but NOT , in any way, shape or formed food substance can you enjoy your food while in the company of flames!

Fire Eater

– photo courtesy of fireeater.com

I suppose then it is quite acceptable to even EAT the fire, but not to slurp one’s soup in the building which contains the smoke and flames.

I would be lackadaisical if I did not expose this enlightening ordinance found in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

It is against the law to go nude in your own home if the blinds are up.

cat peeking out of blinds

– photo courtesy of onesight2011india1.wordpress.com

That’s right, kitty-kat, keep those shades shut when you are skulking around your abode in your birthday suit.  After all, it’s the naked truth!

47 thoughts on “Friday File – Building is on fire? Put that fork down immediately!

  1. Bonnie says:

    Love this!! So fun and it reminds of a game for/by/about lawyers that my kiddo and I came across last summer while on a road trip…and I wrote about it here! http://paperkeeper.wordpress.com/2013/08/10/fun-and-games/

    Such silly laws – I guess some people have a great sense of humor!? 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hey Bonnie! It is so good to see you! Thank you for the link; I shall check it out right now! Oh yes, I agree; I couldn’t possibly fathom any other reason as to why some of these laws exist. Hhhhmm, yes, let’s go with the silly factor!! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

      1. Bonnie says:

        Thanks!! so fun to see you also – it’s been a busy summer! All so good, just so much! 🙂 Hope all is well in the Windy City, I snuck in and out for a conference earlier this month and was going to email you if I had enough free time, but it was a quick trip for a conference. I adore your town!!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It is hard to believe it’s August, isn’t it? Yes, all is well here, thanks Bonnie! Isn’t it great? Oh, next time you are here and have some free time, please email me and let me know! That would be great! Hope all is well in ‘my’ Cali!!! Cher xo

        Like

      3. Bonnie says:

        We do seem to have a mutual admiration society going on between our respective places we call home! 🙂 xo

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Without question, my dear!! 🙂

        Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you!! Have a great weekend! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Have a wonderful weekend too!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you!!! Cher xo

        Like

  2. nikibayard says:

    hilarious 🙂 i love this crayzeee stuff 🙂
    x kettles boiled 😉
    xxxx xxxx xxxx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hee! Me too, dearie! Right, kettle’s boiled; brilliant!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. nikibayard says:

        coffee in the pot 😉
        X

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Let the Friday night coffee cavalcade begin!! Cher xo

        Like

      3. nikibayard says:

        budge up 🙂 the coffee is poured 🙂
        X

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        🙂 🙂 🙂

        Like

      5. nikibayard says:

        angel 🙂 you make me smile
        and my heart feels warm
        X

        Like

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, bless! Thank you, dear Niki!! Cher xo

        Like

      7. nikibayard says:

        i might try hot chocolate next week 😉
        just for a little bit of variety!
        X

        Like

      8. seaangel4444 says:

        Oh right! Chocolate in any form is always a big hit with me!! *LOL* Cher xo

        Like

      9. nikibayard says:

        oh 🙂 chocolate mousse with cream 🙂
        XXX

        Like

      10. seaangel4444 says:

        Now that sounds perfect!!!

        Like

  3. Hahaha I love the one about monsters! lol That is fantastic, Cher!! Thank you for this lovely post, I needed the smile and you always bring it 🙂 🙂

    Peace, light and levity, dear one ~~ Allison xoxo

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Allison! I know, I do too! *LOL* Awh, thanks! I figured it was a good day to bring some sense of “haha” to the day! Big hugs to you my dear, cher xoxo

      Like

  4. andy1076 says:

    So that’s why the cat’s hiding! knew it!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Haha, yes, it was enlightening information to me, too!!! ;-P Cher xo

      Like

  5. Will says:

    I could never live in Winnipeg…again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hahaha, ah, my darlin!! You are a penthouse kinda guy anyway!! 😉 Cher xo

      Like

  6. tkmorin says:

    Yeah, you do have to ask yourself what prompted these laws to be Madeline the first place! Thanks for the friday smile! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it amazing? *LOL* I have been thinking that ever since I wrote this post! *grin* You are most welcome, my dear! Cher xo

      Like

  7. MWAHAHAHAHA!!! I love this!!!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you!!! Cher xo

      Like

  8. PILOT – CANADA  ( TOP OF THE POPS 1976 ): http://youtu.be/lC1y4TAV1Pc

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I hear that the lyrics to Saga songs are quite good as well!!

      Like

  9. Don says:

    🙂 laws, laws, laws. They cramp my style. So enjoyed your post Cher.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I hear you, dear Don!! *LOL* Thank you, it was fun to research, but my goodness there are tons of law that are utterly beyond comprehension! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Poetsmith says:

    Whatever the law, do have a lovely weekend, Cher! 🙂 🙂 Love, Iris.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless! Thank you, dear Iris! And the same to you! Love, Cher xo

      Like

  11. Oh my! Fortunately while the building was aflame I was noshing on Timbits while drinking my Timmes with two sugars and extra cream 😉 LOL

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      D’oh!!!! *grin* Cher xo

      Like

  12. laura kilty says:

    Love that cat, love this post! Thanks for the giggles, Cher!!x

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Laura!! You are most welcome! I laughed, too!! *grin* Cher xo

      Like

  13. Big chuckles with this one… LOL… Good job my blinds were down this morning.. and I no longer Have a cat 😉 to peek in the window.. 🙂 Big Smiles..

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh Sue, now it is YOU that made me laugh with your remarks! hehehehe Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

