The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Kathleen Eaton print 3

It’s Monday morning, and I thought it would be a nice idea to start the week off with a little piece of art.  You know, to allow our brains to ease into the week with a glide instead of a gallop!

This lovely picture is called, “Train Crossing”, by Chicagoland artist Kathleen Eaton.  For those in the ‘know’ (yours truly most definitely not included), this was, “painted and silkscreened oil on Masonite”.

Kathleen Eaton is a unique artist, in my opinion.  Rarely does she paint people in her work; usually her art consists of Chicago neighborhoods, using primarily pinks, oranges, purples, and night scenes.

Midway Airport here in Chicago features two gigantic murals of Ms. Eaton’s work.  The above photo is ours, and how we wish we could own more!

When I first saw Kathleen Eaton’s work I wasn’t quite sure if I liked it or not.  But it did not take long before I realized I actually loved it.  Strange, the art world sometimes, isn’t it?

I hope you have a mellow Monday!

30 thoughts on “Mellow Monday in an artistic way!

  1. andy1076 says:

    Always enjoyed urbanish paintings, feels just right 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I totally agree, Andy! And I truly love it that Kathleen Eaton doesn’t put people in most of her work. It just makes it easier to create your own scenes (she does have the occasional puppy or kitty, though). ;-P

      Like

      1. andy1076 says:

        That’s alright too! 😀

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        When I bought this picture I was communicating with Kathleen Eaton about her work. I asked her why no people in her pictures? She told me she didn’t think she could paint them as well as her ability to paint buildings, etc. I don’t agree; she’s so incredibly talented, I bet she could paint anything: even big ice cream cones!!!! xoxo ;-P

        Like

      3. andy1076 says:

        I agree! I feel the atmosphere coming from the painting, almost another world.

        I certainly hope she’ll paint an ice cream shop heh!

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Andy, I feel the exact same way! Thank you for saying that! I always feel as if Kathleen Eaton’s work is from another world and I like it! *LOL* Oh my, can you imagine? Wouldn’t that be awesome? Mind you, she’d have to paint a HUGE store to get in all the ice cream you bought from Costco! ;-P Cher xo

        Like

      5. andy1076 says:

        She’d need a bigger frame 😀

        Like

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        A wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy bigger frame! 🙂

        Like

      7. andy1076 says:

        exaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaactly XD

        Like

      8. seaangel4444 says:

        Hehehehehe!!! 😉

        Like

  2. Lovely art, Cher, wanna post more of her creations, nudge, nudge, wink, wink?????

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Say no more, say no more; I’m on it, Mo!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 *LOL*

      Like

  3. Don says:

    Beautiful piece, Cher. Love the colours, the controlled space and the fact that there are traces of people being around but can’t be seen – someone must have put the lights on.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh yes, isn’t it beautiful, Don? I find all of Kathleen Eaton’s work invokes a very special feeling. Yes, the lights are on, someone is home, but who? *grin* It leaves a lot to one’s imagination and that is one of the huge reasons I love her work. It truly is unique! Cher xo

      Like

  4. I love this painting, Cher. Very much brings to mind the work of Edward Hopper – one of my favourite artists of all time!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Veronica! I am glad you like it, too! Edward Hopper? I have not heard of him but I am most certainly going to investigate!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. Kathleen does nice work! ‘Train Crossing’ has an almost Salvifore Dali look… I’ll guess this is somewhere around Chicago and State… 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Billy Ray! I agree; it doesn’t, doesn’t it? Ah, you know Chicago my dear!!!!! *biggest grin* Cher xo

      Like

  6. Bangin’ on LOVE!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi David!!! Do you know Kathleen Eaton’s work? Cher xo

      Like

      1. No I don’t Cher, I search for het

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        When I first saw her enormous murals at Midway Airport, David, I was fascinated. But as I said in my post, I don’t think I really liked her work. Then all of a sudden it seemed to ‘click’ that I adore it! Strange, I know!! Cher xo

        Like

  7. So refreshing sans people! When I went to Europe, I would get up very early in the morning, before all the tourists awoke (except for me, haha), and photograph the beautiful architecture with empty streets, then out again very late at night for night photography without people in the photos. I also took some with tons of tourists in them. I have nothing against people in photographs, for I do plenty of ‘street photography’ and portrait work, but I like to make photographs and see art without people, also. Variety is great. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much for your comments! I was visualizing the streets without anyone there and how that must have been wonderful for your photos. I completely understand what you are saying though; the variety is of course the spice of life!! There is something calming about seeing buildings on their own. Strange, but I’ve always seen it that way! Cher xo

      Like

  8. Joseph Nebus says:

    Oh, I think that I’ve seen this, but I’ve had only one short layover in Midway so I’m not positive.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Joseph! It is very likely you did see Kathleen Eaton’s work despite a short layover in Midway. I shall post more of her work soon, and maybe I can get a photo of her murals at Midway to show everyone! Cher xo

      Like

  9. mbitproducer says:

    Hmm it’s nice, the colors the & the expression in her work..but id love to see it on a friday : )

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Well I shall keep that in mind!!

      Like

  10. Pretty cool painting! Monday is almost coming here..I do hope it will be a mellow one… cheers and hope you have a wonderful week!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you! Yes, and the same to you!!!! Hugs, Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

Wheelescapades

Tea, Tours and Escapades

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

