The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Hummingbird Sept 17 2014

Will wonders never cease! Here I am at a street corner, minding my own beeswax, when suddenly my peripheral vision was filled with a very quickly moving object!  I’ll be darned if it wasn’t a sweet little hummingbird!

This particular street corner is adorned with a lovely, large concrete flower planter.  This dear hummingbird was busily reaching for his lunch which was provided on this day courtesy of a mammoth array of red flowers.  The white “square” you see is a marking on the sidewalk; that’s how close this dear birdie was hovering to the street corner!

Not only have I never seen a hummingbird in Chicago, but rarely does one have the opportunity to capture a photo of this creature with its strong, yet delicate disposition.

I apologize for the rather unclear composition; let’s just say I’ll blame it on the wee hummingbird’s haste!

87 thoughts on “Is that a………………?? No, it can’t be!

  1. andy1076 says:

    wow! nice catch 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Good morning! Ah, thanks, Andy! It was absolutely a surreal moment! I grabbed my phone and fast as I could and I think I even caught him with one wing up and one wing down (sort of)!! And then I smiled! Cher xo

      Like

      1. andy1076 says:

        Talk about a gift from nature 😀

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Oh yes, it most certainly was! And I said, “thank you” to myself as I crossed the street. Super grateful!!! xo

        Like

      3. andy1076 says:

        I certainly would too 🙂 🙂

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        🙂 🙂 Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike says:

    Nice job! I really enjoy watching and trying to photograph hummingbirds. We have a feeder and flowers on our deck and these little guys really enjoy them. They’re very territorial, too. They seem to nest in a nearby spruce tree and watch over the feeder. When intruders come to the feeder it’s common to see a little hummingbird come swooping in from the spruce tree to scare off the thief.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thanks, Mike! I an very envious that you have a feeder and can watch them having a snack whenever the notion suits them! I didn’t know they were territorial, Mike! I guess they don’t realize how small they are, and use their quick speed to swoop! Well done! *LOL* It was such an odd and wonderful sight for me yesterday, that is for sure!! I didn’t take more than one photo, as I didn’t want to scare him and felt grateful for this *albeit fuzzy* photo! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Mike says:

        You did fine with the photo especially with just a phone camera! Now that I know what to look for I see more hummingbirds on the street but before I hadn’t really noticed what they looked like when actually flying. They’d come up to me in the garden and hover a bit then they were gone. But, now I see them flying from tree to tree and I recognize them more on the street.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, thank you, Mike! I really appreciate that! Well now that you say that, I think I’ll have to be more on the lookout, too! I seemed to be the only one who noticed this little cutie. Everyone (and understandably) was busy crossing the street! You have had them hover near you!! Oh wow! To me, I think it is a great reminder to observe the wonder of nature! As Andy just mentioned in his comments a few minutes ago, it is a gift from nature. I quite agree! Cher xo

        Like

  3. rex says:

    I’ve only seen two in 7 years living in the City. How cool you caught an image of him!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Rex!!! Well I am so happy I did!! So it isn’t just me, then. My fellow Chicagoan can vouch for the fact these little creatures don’t make too many appearances in The Windy City! Good to hear from you, Rex! Cher xo

      Like

  4. laura kilty says:

    Ah! That’s amazing, Cher! I had a hummingbird fly by my ear when I was in Colorado- the only time I’ve seen one in real life- and I cried I was so happy!! That’s so, so cool you got a pic! And a beautiful pic it is too!xxx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Laura! Well what a cool experience for you! I would have cried, too! They are magical, aren’t they? Now I wish I had ‘hovered’ longer around the little birdie!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. Hi Cher,
    I love your photo – I always thought hummingbirds were only to be found in the Caribbean, but now I know better! Also I love that phrase, “mind your beeswax”. My dad used to say that to us kids when we were being too nosy, and it made me think of him.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you so much, Veronica! I absolutely love these little creatures! I have heard that a hummingbird’s eggs are only the size of peas! Isn’t that cute? Bless! I think I must have been told this too as a child! Hehehehe Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Ah, seeker!!!! *grin* Cher xo

      Like

  6. John says:

    This is simply amazing! Amazing that you even got the photo as these little guys are incredibly fast. Did you use your phone cam? Hummers are very common in Las Vegas, you can see them almost every day if you know what to look and listen for. Not only the hum sound of course, but the delicate single chirp they make. My favorite birds!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, John! Yes, I did use my phone cam, actually! Oh are they? I didn’t know that! They are mine, too! I was so grateful that this little cutie allowed me to take a photo; perhaps he slowed down just to be kind!! *grin* Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Billy Ray! What a thrill it was to see this dear birdie having some lunch! Cher xo

      Like

  7. fangboner1 says:

    Little things like this make my day. I love seeing wildlife like that. The picture is nice but I bet the picture brings back the memory crystal clear for you and that is something to treasure.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless! Thank you so much for your comments! Yes, it sure is a treasured memory, that’s for sure!! Cher xo

      Like

  8. freshscribe says:

    Really nice picture. Where in Chicago did you take this picture?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thanks! It was actually in Evanston; although it is ‘part’ of Chicagoland, I thought most people would reference “Chicago” as opposed to, “Evanston”. *grin* Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, George!!! Nice to see you!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. georgeforfun says:

        Thankful for every day I can be seen, even if not heard in RL))))))))))))))))))))

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        *biggest grin* George!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. georgeforfun says:

        Best thing in life is more time, indeed. I’m not greedy. Just blessed and a bit spoiled.
        Oh, my Nieces said I wasn’t spoiled, those spots are just Freckles))))))))))))))))))))))

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Hahaha, George!!! That’s terrific on all accounts!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      5. georgeforfun says:

        they keep my alive and HUMBLE

        Like

      6. georgeforfun says:

        Not bad for 2 year olds? Smarter than I was at 6, but about the same on the SmartAleck scale, must be in the blood

        Like

      7. seaangel4444 says:

        Wow, 2 year olds! That is very impressive, George! Oh yeah, the SmartAleck genes almost ALWAYS carry on! *LOL*

        Liked by 1 person

      8. georgeforfun says:

        Raised by Adults with an Uncle who may be mute, but has enough Aleck for all)))))))))))))))))
        Dry erase boards speak loud and colorful))))))

        Like

      9. seaangel4444 says:

        OMG you are making me howl!! *LOL* I will never look at a dry erase board in the same way ever again, George!!! 😉 xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      10. georgeforfun says:

        Seldom is it dull around here or quiet unless all the kiddies are in bed and not snoring, allergies abound with us )))
        Wouldn’t be fun if it was always too quiet(((
        At least now my siblings don’t worry about me going to viewings and funerals. I believed in celebrating life with joy and ushering the dead away supported by laughter and smiles, and embarrassing incidents that would have cause them to kill me if they weren’t already dead. Relative to Relative secret promises expire on death of other party))))))))))))))))))))))))))

        Like

      11. seaangel4444 says:

        But dear George, thank God for the dry board!!!!! I can just see you at a funeral waving your board to ensure you are HEARD LOUD AND CLEAR!! *continuation of biggest grin* 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      12. georgeforfun says:

        Since becoming mute, I have a police siren app on phone, you just never know when you need attention or just clear a path)))))))))))))))

        Like

      13. seaangel4444 says:

        *LMAO* Hahahaha *times 100*!!!!! That is stellar, George!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      14. georgeforfun says:

        Once when I filled in for a teacher as a sub, I had playground duty, high school, idea of playground was a huge fenced cage standing room only. Invitation for violence indeed. On second day, I brought compressed air horn for boats with me. Stopped all that noise quickly, no fights or incidents for 30 days of instruction, I think it’s still a school record. I still run into former students who call me the Fisherman. hahahah

        Like

      15. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* Brilliant! I am sure it is still a record! They should have a plaque on the wall (air horn bronzed included) with your name on it!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Like

      16. georgeforfun says:

        Skype just hasn’t recovered since I started with my dry erase boards.
        PSA, don’t read further with a full mouth.

        But what do CAM(bodian) girls know? They’re not used to dealing with MUTES)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

        Like

      17. seaangel4444 says:

        Hahahaha too funny! I am sure you have turned Skype on its ear (if it indeed has one – or two)!!!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      18. georgeforfun says:

        Ought to see me in line at Walmart. I drive a motorized buggy. Heck, I’m as handicapped as some of those chicken eating soda drinking french-fry slurping “I gots dat sugars” folks that take up half a lane without the Karts
        Difference is, it’s my buggy and MY MONEY, not the taxpayers.

        Like

      19. seaangel4444 says:

        I would LOVE to see you in action, George!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      20. georgeforfun says:

        I have two wallets, spending and bail)))))
        TN is also an open carry state, so I open up my cane and carry an extra metal one, filled with concrete, not a weapon, just extra support for unbalanced old fart.))))))))))

        Like

      21. seaangel4444 says:

        I think I said this to you before, but I really wish you’d write a book (or volumes)!! This is gold, George! Hope you don’t get the wallets mixed up! Hehehehehe

        Liked by 1 person

      22. georgeforfun says:

        My kids and friends have said the same, right now I’m trying my hand with another friend. Short story I’d gauge, so far posted 1 chapter, tomorrow 2nd, maybe even 3rd if she finishes taking out all the bad grammar(((((( It’s and old man and young professor intro. I’m not a writer, but learning

        Like

      23. seaangel4444 says:

        Well I must say that if you write a book, I’m buying it!!! You should have the front cover as a dry erase board!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      24. georgeforfun says:

        A Book by a fervent follower of the traditional laws of silence within the IM_A_MUTE Clan.
        Good title page?

        Like

      25. seaangel4444 says:

        I LOVE IT!!! Don’t change a thing!!!! xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      26. georgeforfun says:

        Thought you would.
        2nd choice was, The True Story of a Peter Pan who never wanted to grow up, nor become an Adult until absolutely no options remained
        or
        Why Robin Williams Was Responsible For Me Not Blowing My Brains Out After Vietnam

        Like

      27. seaangel4444 says:

        Despite the fact you drive a very hard book-cover bargain *biggest grin*, I am sticking with Book Cover Choice #1 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      28. georgeforfun says:

        I must agree with you, maybe that’ll be my 2nd book.
        My 3rd one I think will be the Great Pretender, a list of “jobs” and “assignments” I survived despite the bureaucracy in DC, (DOJ, DOD, USAF, USMC, DEA, etc)

        Great Pretender: or How to baffle your way into and out of undercover, overt and covert situtations without knowing anything other than your name, rank and social security number.

        Like

      29. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* Oh George! See, I can visualize a bookshelf with more than one book, so keep those titles coming!!!! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      30. georgeforfun says:

        I’ll be happy just to share tales of old and how I got this far being the perpetual NeverMadeItToStageForMyStandUpDebutBeforeBecomingAMute
        with as many as possible. Start a journal, my tale of the day. I still need to find 3 men and a pig named Oink Atkins tale, actually non-fiction. I can relate it now, all the guilty parties have passed away. They’ll be laughing somewhere, I’m just not sure where?

        Like

      31. seaangel4444 says:

        Hhhmmm, where…………. that is a question to fill Library of Congress, George! OMG, 3 men and a pig? I honestly wish you could hear me laughing, EVERY SINGLE TIME you write something!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      32. georgeforfun says:

        I’ll try to find it so I can retype it from audio recording Monday should give me time enough)))) I love the sounds of laughter, I miss my own so much, but I do find I listen better now.
        double edged sword, Cancer,

        Like

      33. seaangel4444 says:

        Excellent!!! *LOL* Ah, George. 😦 I’m sorry. I am however, grateful to the dry erase board company; they have no idea what a treasure you are!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      34. georgeforfun says:

        It was easy choice, weeks before my 4(2 sets of Twins b/g pairs) were born, keep my voice or live longer with them. I delayed it as much as possible, but when time came, lop that sucker off and anything attached to it. Life is more precious than any one organ or sense. I have older recordings we are going to separate and redo in digital one day, for now I still have cassette and VHS devices that work. YAYAyyyyyyyyyyyy

        Like

      35. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, George!!! Hey, cassettes and VHS devices that work; that is stellar, George!! Love it!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      36. georgeforfun says:

        You bet, I’m old fashioned, these DVDs and CDs will soon be a thing of the past)))))))))))))) just dang FADS

        Like

      37. seaangel4444 says:

        George, you don’t have an eight-track (or two?) hanging about, do you? 😉 😉 xo

        Liked by 1 person

      38. georgeforfun says:

        Indeed, an AKAI reel to reel, old cassette changer that holds 12 cassettes and drops one after another, but I have to turn them around at the end of playing cycles, no reverse gear or eject and spin cycles))))))))))))))
        Still have Commodore Plus, 64 and German 128. Antiques indeed

        Like

      39. seaangel4444 says:

        HAHAHA, George! I KNEW it!! As for the other “antiques”, why, I think some of those are much better built than the ‘craptacular’ stuff on the market these days! Well done, George!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      40. georgeforfun says:

        For years, as my kids were growing up, they couldn’t understand why their Mom always fussed about the stuff YOUR DAD Hoarded always.
        Later they understood that I hadn’t Whored it

        Like

      41. seaangel4444 says:

        HEE!!! Ah with age comes, what? Wisdom? *grin* Very cool!

        Liked by 1 person

      42. georgeforfun says:

        Enunciation maybe?

        Like

      43. seaangel4444 says:

        Wisdom of enunciation!!! Yes, that’s it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Brilliant photo, and wow.. lovely to see Nature enjoying city life.. 🙂 Hope all is well with you too 🙂 xxx Look up the meaning too of Humming Bird as an animal totem. 😀 xxxx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Sue! Me too! Well isn’t that interesting you’d say that, because believe it or not, that is exactly what I was planning to do!! *big grin* Thank you for the affirmation!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Grinning with you 😉 😀 xxx

        Like

  10. What a tasty little guy….*(just sayin)*

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      You bratty kitty!! *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehehehe!!! *(trills)*

        Like

  11. You’re right, Cher. Will wonders never cease? I could never imagine a hummingbird on a street corner in Chicago! And you sure have a quick finger on that shutter button!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Carol! Awh, thank you! Yes, I was thinking the exact same thing when I saw this little wonder! *LOL* Well, I think I was just lucky to get a photo of this little dear! But I sure am grateful! It was magical! Cher xo

      Like

  12. What super sight, wonderful to catch it at all. I have a dear little robin who bathes dramatically in our birdbath. I can go right up to him/her and he goes on washing – unless I have a camera in my hand.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh yes, it really was, Hilary! Awh, isn’t that sweet! They seem to know when we have cameras in out midst; that is why I am extra-grateful for this dear little hummingbird ‘allowing’ his photo to be taken! *grin* Ah, you will get a photo of the wee little robin one of these days. Perhaps when he’s singing in his bath! 🙂

      Like

  13. babylonmagus says:

    Magic is indeed all around us…

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Truly it is, isn’t it? 🙂 🙂 🙂 Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, architecture, holy stuff and plant-based sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

Karla Sullivan

Progressive old soul wordsmith

