The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

American and Canadian Flags

[photo courtesy of https://www.amexpattax.com%5D

If you have been following The Chicago Files for a while, you will no doubt know that I talk a lot about my observations, musings, and general findings here in Chicago.

Well my dear readers, today’s post is of a more personal nature.  Today, I became a U.S. Citizen! I am now a dual-citizen, holding citizenship in the United States and Canada.  This afternoon I attended an Oath Ceremony.  There were people from approximately 40 countries (about 130 people taking the Oath along with yours truly) in attendance.  It was a wonderful greeting, and very moving.

I could feel the nervousness, excitement, and anticipation fill the room.  It was a surreal experience, to be sure.  I loved every minute of it.

Before we received our Naturalization Certificates, every country represented was called in alphabetical order.  From Albania to Zimbabwe, we stood when our country of origin was called.  I was one of two Canadians present.  I was astonished at the global coverage of soon-to-be U.S. Citizens.

The gratitude I feel as I write this post is beyond my ability to describe in words.

Bless the United States and Canada; I have the honor and privilege of calling them both my home.

Gratitude

[photo courtesy of http://tobifairley.com%5D

 

53 thoughts on “The Duality of it all………….

  1. Congratulations and Timmies and Timbits for everyone!!!!!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you so much!! I’ll drink (coffee) to that!!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. babylonmagus says:

        Let’s just hope that it was some Timmy’s… lol!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Sadly, no! I sure am wishing for a Timmy’s right now, though!! *biggest grin* Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. John says:

    This is great news, congratulations! Welcome home – to your other home!! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you so much, John! It feels absolutely fantastic!! Cher xo

      Like

  3. Mike says:

    Congratulations, Cher! It’s good to have you officially on our side. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you, Mike! I am incredibly grateful!!! Cher xo

      Like

  4. Adam Hughes says:

    Oh,congratualations! How wonderfully exciting 🙂 I wish I lived in Canada or the USA. xx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you, Adam! I am extremely fortunate to now be a dual citizen of U.S. and Canada. I do realize how lucky I am. Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Adam Hughes says:

        Gosh,you can go where the good weather is. you lucky lady. xox

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        *biggest grin* I am lucky beyond words, Adam, and I am very grateful and humbled! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Victo Dolore says:

    Congratulations! Woohoo!!!! (And Chicago is my most favorite US city. It has a special place in my heart!)

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you so much! I feel the same way!! And I truly feel so incredibly grateful and appreciative. Cher xo

      Like

  6. Rosh says:

    Congratulations Cher!! I’m glad to hear you can be have dual-citizenship. I didn’t think the US let you do that. That’s great that they do. Good for you!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much! Yes, the United States allows dual citizenship with Canada. There are some countries that the United States will allow this duality, and some it won’t. I am extremely fortunate! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    Hey that’s wonderful. I’m glad you took the time and much trouble to do it. Now you can vote.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much! As a matter of fact, I registered to vote right outside the Oath Ceremony Auditorium! That is extremely important to me!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  8. D. Parker says:

    That’s awesome Cher!!! You’re an Americanadian!!! So pleased for you!!! Congrats and big hugs!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Donna! I am absolutely over the moon about it!! Big hugs back, Cher xo

      Like

  9. Joseph Nebus says:

    Congratulations!

    I hope you can find a fitting life-balance of timbits and White Castle burgers.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Joseph! Ah yes, it is always about the balance, isn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

  10. Congratulations! That is just wonderful. I love America very much! I miss living there! I’ll return one of these days haha. Anyhow, I am very happy for you :).

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Rob! Ah, I didn’t know you lived in the US before! I am extremely lucky and grateful!! Cher xo

      Like

  11. Don says:

    Congratulations Cher. What a privilege that must be for you. I think it’s wonderful. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, dear Don! Oh yes, it is a wonderful privilege and I am so fortunate! Truly, I am filled with gratitude! Cher xo

      Like

  12. Open the champagne! HOORAH!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Wahoo! *LOL* Thank you so much, Billy Ray!! Cher xo

      Like

  13. Congratulations, Cher, you must be delighted! Just a query – I thought the US didn’t allow dual citizenship because when the Dirty Digger Murdoch became a US citizen he had to renounce Australian citizenship. Has it changed since then or are Canadians seen as cousins and close buddies?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Mo! Ah, a very good question indeed my dear! There are some countries who have an agreement with the United States and are allowed to keep their home country citizenship when they become U.S. Citizens. Canada is one of those countries, but I believe Australia is not. There are quite a number of countries who have the dual citizenship agreement with the U.S. Here is a list of the countries on the “yes” list and the “no” list:
      http://www.immihelp.com/citizenship/dual-citizenship-recognize-countries.html

      Cher xo

      Like

  14. nikibayard says:

    oh you American you!
    time to put the kettle on and relax a little 🙂
    great to be with you again on a Friday night 🙂
    love love
    Nx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah my dear Niki! Thank you so much! Right then, kettle on and relax!! You too, my dear! Cher xo

      Like

      1. nikibayard says:

        Oh Sweet Angel,
        have missed you much
        Nx

        Like

  15. Congrats! I love it here in Canada 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Christy! And welcome to The Chicago Files!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Congratulations on becoming a U.S. citizen.

    Like

  17. Congratulations Seaangel444, and welcome to the family.

    Like

  18. Congratulations! Hot dogs all around! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you!! And of course I have to make mine a, “Chicago-style”! *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Woo-hoo! I’m happy for you!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Woo-hoo!!! Yeay! Thank you, Brenda!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  20. babylonmagus says:

    Félicitations… so you don’t forget your roots, eh!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much! No, I sure won’t forget my roots! No doubt about that, eh!! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Congratulations, my friend. That is wonderful. I’ve been thinking about my own naturalization (at 18) this wk after seeing a post on this topic. I remember being impressed that the judge was so kind. He had a nice smile for us all in that colorful room. It wAs a special moment.

    Love,
    Diana

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you so much, Diana! That is so incredibly thoughtful of you. Ah, what a wonderful memory! Such a special and important moment. Thank you for sharing this with me, Diana! I feel so grateful to be a U.S. Citizen! Love Cher xo

      Like

  22. this is really great. congratulations

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much, Eddie!!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking one of my posts. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Natalie! Blessings to you, Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  24. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    Whenever I see this Oath ceremony I get positively misty eyed. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, Jackie, yes, I know exactly what you mean! I wore waterproof mascara and now I know why! *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Congratulations!!! America is everyone, that’s what a lot of people from other countries forget. They are us and we are them:) America IS the United Nations…LOL You said it beautifully, my fellow Chicagoan:) Lovely post.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, thank you so much, dear! And how wonderful are your comments! Perfectly stated! I concur completely, my fellow Chicagoan!! Truly, I am extremely blessed to be part of two magnificent nations!! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, architecture, holy stuff and plant-based sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

Vegan Mystic

Inspiration for a vibrant mind, body & soul

