The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Christmas tree with lights

– photo courtesy of http://www.gopixpic.com

I love this photo! I was searching on the internet for a serene, calming photo of a tree decorated for Christmas; lo and behold, I found precisely what I was looking for.

Sometimes the entire holiday season can bring literally a dichotomy of feelings and emotions.  We can find ourselves happy, joyful, sad, emotional; clearly, it can run the gamut.  I wanted to do a little post to remind us all to take a deep breath, focus on one thing at a time, and look for things that lighten your mood.  Perhaps it is a picture, maybe a movie, or a little puppy striding by at a gingerly pace, who seems to be wearing a rather large grin on his face.  What does he know that we don’t know? *grin*

Here is a quote to remind us all to have an open heart during this holiday season:

“The greatest degree of inner tranquility comes from the development of love and compassion. The more we care for the happiness of others, the greater is our own sense of well-being.”

– Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama

I hope you are having a day marked by moments of serenity!!

18 thoughts on “Saturday Serenity

  1. Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless you! Thank you! I think it is good for all of us to remind each other (me included, that is for sure)!! Cher xo

      Like

  2. Awesome quote!! (and picture:) )

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Kimberly!! Interestingly enough, the clouds over Lake Michigan have begun to dissipate; this started shortly after I wrote this post! Coincidence, surely; however, it made me smile! Cher xo

      Like

  3. John says:

    Christmas can be nutty, I hear people.sayimg they will be glad when it’s over. Bah humbug, aye?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It truly can, can’t it, John? I think that’s why I felt my post might be a bit appropriate today! It is also a reminder for myself as well! Cher xo

      Like

  4. laura kilty says:

    LOVE this quote- and post! Thanks for sharing.x

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you, Laura! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, my dear! Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, David!!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. Brett says:

    Nice the way it’s situated in the snow-filled field among the other trees without lights.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Brett! I felt the same way when I saw this photo; it was exactly what I was hoping to find. Serenity, I think! Cher xo

      Like

  6. You did pick just the right one, Cher. It is truly a serene scene!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you, dear Carol! I searched for quite some time to find the ‘right’ one!! It really is a serene scene, isn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It is, isn’t it, Hilary? I love this quote! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

Wheelescapades

Tea, Tours and Escapades

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

