The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Macy's Window 4 2014

Every Christmas season Macy’s Department store exhibits an absolutely magical montage of Christmas moments in the windows of their stores.  I tried to capture some of these for you; however, two things stood in my way:  me, and the window glare!  I do apologize for the lack of quality in these photos; nonetheless, I hope you get ‘the idea’!  Lots of baking special goodies in this display! The fellow near the Christmas tree actually spent his time whirling around it! I caught him just as he was rounding the back!

Macy's Window 2 2014

The displays are incredibly well done; they cause quite a crowd to form at each window, as you can well imagine.  Lots and lots of wrapping to do!  These toys are anxiously waiting to capture a child’s heart!

Macy's Window 2014

Note the, “Santa Mail” on the mailbox! Special delivery for Santa, including his own special, magical mailbox!

Macy's window 3 2014

Letters received! I knew they would make it!

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

 

 

38 thoughts on “The Friday File: Macy’s Magical Moments!

  1. andy1076 says:

    I want that baker set! It would look so awesome in my living room 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I don’t think it’s big enough! You like large stuff, like that crazy lamp you posted a long time ago! ;-P

      Liked by 1 person

      1. andy1076 says:

        Hey I’m still waiting to have that lamp delivered locally lol! it so would fit my study 😛

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It’s from the Land of the Giants, Andy!! ;-P

        Liked by 1 person

      3. andy1076 says:

        More reason to want lol!

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* *LOL* Andy!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. seaangel4444 says:

        Hehehehe!! That lamp is crazy big! I’m just sayin’!!

        Like

      6. andy1076 says:

        Ya, but it’s so far back I won’t have to worry about knocking it off heh!

        Like

      7. seaangel4444 says:

        That is true! Oh, Andy!!!!!! ;-P

        Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was a child I would pester my mom to take me downtown to see the Christmas window displays 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, really? I think it must be tradition for a lot of folks. Since I didn’t grow up with Macy’s, I am like a kid now with it!! That must have been so nice!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At the time Macy’s wasn’t in our state but the store we had did just as bang up a job and I loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        That is wonderful! What cool memories!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Used to be Marshall Field’s, until it was sold to Macy’s, and we went every year. It was a tradition. We would go to see the windows and then eat lunch the Walnut room by the gigantic tree. Chicago history.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I love hearing this! What a wonderful tradition! Cher xo

      Like

  4. Dina says:

    I have spent a few Christmases in the States and Macys are nothing but magic, bringing you the right feeling and swing for the festivities. Lovely post again, Cher!
    Have a wonderful, cozy weekend, Dina Xx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Dina! We don’t have Macy’s in Canada either; to me, it is magic at Christmas! I adore strolling by the windows, especially looking at the wee ones who are so excited!! Okay, the big kids too (me)! And to you as well!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Oh it is marvelous!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Aren’t they great, Cindy? No wonder why have tourists (and locals alike) flocking to Macy’s at this time of year! Cher xo

      Like

  6. YOu make me miss all those wonderful things about Chicago! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, bless! Thank you, Kimberly! Cher xo

      Like

  7. nikibayard says:

    ho ho ha 🙂
    Nxo

    Like

  8. Loving the images! It feels sooo Christmas!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you, dear Indah! Yes, I feel it does too! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  9. worldbeat99 says:

    Hi Cher, we miss seeing you at BSA. I like the first photo where we can see you taking the picture. It adds a lot.
    The Japanese have a word “wabi,” which means the flaw in an object that makes it unique and beautiful.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awh, Dwight; thank you so much for your wonderful words. I miss you all, too. I love what you said about the photo; I shall have to use that lovely Japanese word more often, especially when I look at my photos! *grin* I’ll stop by sometime soon! I hope all is well with you! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Looks very magical.. 🙂 Wishing you Happy Shopping Days to Christmas.. Thankfully I am now all done and dusted

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much, dear Sue! That is brilliant, Sue! You are on top of things! Well done, my dear! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Amber Danette says:

    This pose makes me feel so Chritmassy. I had to come and take a second look 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless you, Amber! Thank you so much! #justmademyday! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amber Danette says:

        You are welcome. Fab hashtag #youhavetoo xx

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* Thank you, Amber!! Cher xo

        Like

      3. Amber Danette says:

        Ha ha :O) You will always be welcome. xo

        Like

  12. kmorto says:

    Beautiful, thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you! I know they aren’t the best quality photos, but I sure did try! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

