The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Martin Luther King in Chicago

I wrote this post last year for Martin Luther King Day.  I thought I’d repost it again; I do hope you enjoy it!

Today, “The Chicago Files” turns to a more serious topic than those normally posted.

It is, “Martin Luther King Day” here in the US.  To most Canadians, Dr. Martin Luther King is an iconic figure that fought for the civil rights of African-Americans.  Not a lot is said or written about him in Canada (at least to my knowledge), but yet there is a collective understanding among Canadians that what Dr. King stood for was right and true.  Perhaps this is a simplistic way of putting it on my part, but there is a reason for it.  I see it as a nod of agreement; yes, there is no need to explain that which is correct.

Dr. King was born on January 15, 1929, in Atlanta, GA.  The picture above was taken when Dr. King visited Chicago in 1966.  He came to Chicago often to assist local leaders in the civil rights movement.

I am in awe of the work that Dr. King accomplished.  Each time I hear his famous, “I Have a Dream” speech that he delivered from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial on August 28, 1963 in Washington, DC, I get goosebumps and a lump in my throat.  His words resonate so deeply, and I cannot help but be so incredibly grateful for his astonishingly courageous and honorable spirit.  If you have never heard this speech, I encourage you to please look it up; it is one of the most powerful speeches I have ever heard.

To me, as a Canadian living in Chicago, I am reminded every day how vitally important it is to show each person I meet that we are all beings cut from the same cosmic cloth, as it were.  By that I mean we come from the same source; we are all connected whether we can wrap our human brains around this, I’m not so sure.  The feeling, ah yes, the feeling that comes from simply acting in kindness, compassion, and treating everyone with respect and dignity.  As I (unfortunately) on occasion bear witness to a word or an act that does not represent any of these things, it only strengthens my conviction to look for ways to show them even more.  Sometimes it is simply opening a door for someone, or a smile to a passerby, which is sometimes looked upon with suspicion; sad, but true.

This does not discourage me in anyway, shape, or smile *grin*.  It merely invigorates my resolve to show people, as Dr. King so eloquently noted and I paraphrase here: that individuals not be judged on the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.

I hope today, wherever you inhabit the planet, that you will take pause and focus your awareness on that which is so becoming of you, as a fellow human being, to remember your connectedness with all who share the planet with you.

Martin Luther King I have a dream speech

11 thoughts on “Martin Luther King Jr. Day – repost

  1. Happy MLK to you with a hug and a cup of Timmies 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you my dear! Muchly appreciated!! Hugs right back and Timmies sounds terrific! cher xo

      Like

  2. Brett says:

    Cher, good thoughts, especially about the underlying connectedness that binds us together and, if we let it, enriches us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Brett; I really appreciate your words. I feel it would literally change our perception of society if we would let ourselves feel the connectedness to everyone. Cher xo

      Like

  3. I’m with you all the way. I cannot be surprised if my smiles are sometimes regarded with hesitation by people who have been on the receiving end of so much injustice. We must keep working on rebalancing.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you for your words, Hilary. I think I am a bit more adjusted to that type of response here in Chicago; nonetheless, once in a while it does catch me off-guard, and I feel rather sad at that moment. But yes, I love your word, “rebalancing”; brilliant! Cher xo

      Like

  4. nikibayard says:

    so glad you reposted this… i missed it first time round
    and yes, i will go look up the speech.
    you are compassion my lovely angel, your heart reached out to mine moons ago
    and helped me become stronger
    i have a new home now and i am blessed
    tea? 😉
    xo
    Niki.

    Like

  5. Jay says:

    It’s nice to have the Canadian angle since it’s not something we celebrate here.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a great posting with such insight.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah bless you! Thank you so much for that! I really appreciate it! To me Dr. King was one of the greatest human beings to ever walk the planet; his impact continues to pave the way, in my opinion. Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

