The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The iconic, Winnipeg-based band, “The Guess Who” released a song in 1970 called, “Bus Rider” (from the, “Share the Land” album).

The first verse goes like this:

Get up in the morning, get on the bus
Get up in the morning like the rest of us
Places to go, important people to meet
Better not get up or you might lose your seat

A few years ago, shortly after getting on a streetcar in Toronto, didn’t I notice a rather interesting couple of bus riders!  I could not get, “Bus Rider” out of my head for at least a dozen or more streetcar stops!

This dear golden retriever sat (as any polite Canadian puppy would do) in his seat, probably contemplating where he buried his bonanza of bones in the yard.  I had to literally bite my tongue because I wanted to laugh out loud; not in any other way but to show my sheer and utter delight at this wonderful scene!

The puppy proceeded to do what any other passenger might do on a long streetcar journey:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He had a wee peek out the window; perhaps there was a doggie park that caught his eye.

The interesting observation I made that day was how the unusual sight was played out in such a normal way.  The gentleman with his headphones on, listening to who knows what, and his sweet companion who likewise (sans headphones) sat in his seat in a rather everyday fashion.

In case you are wondering, the Toronto Transit Commission does allow doggies on its transit vehicles.  It is left to the discretion of the vehicle operator to deny boarding of our furry friends if the vehicle is too crowded, too many other puppies already on board, etc.  The day we were on the streetcar was in the middle of the week in the middle of the day on a line that wasn’t very busy.  Perfect puppy passenger, was this golden retriever.

Laughter may now ensue.

🙂

 

33 thoughts on “Guess Who……. Bus Rider!

  1. Oh wow! that’s really nice and so very kind of them to allow dogs on their transit vehicles 🙂 Thanks for sharing this heart warming post 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you for your kind words! Isn’t it adorable? And that dear puppy sat perfectly the entire ride. 🙂 cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes I found that so adorable 🙂 I read long back that Golden Retrievers are the most intelligent breed of dogs. I wish more places in the world believed in showing such kindness.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Golden retrievers truly are amazing; they are so gentle and sweet! I agree with you; the entire world needs more kindness! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. annetbell says:

    Wonderful story and picture !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Anne! I felt the calmness of this dear doggie simply having a ride like any other passenger!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you so much, Anne! Cher xo

        Like

  3. kanzensakura says:

    That just makes my whole day smiley. Wonderful. Wish we did that here but somebody would put up an argument, or allege he frightened some hooligan child, or made their allergies worse or….

    Like

  4. John says:

    Great post!! I looove the Guess Who!! The dog is amazing, so calm and patient. It’s great Toronto allows dogs on the busses. Guessing you are from Toronto, such a beautiful city on the lake.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thanks, John! Me too! The Guess Who is from Winnipeg which is where I spent many a moon!!! Toronto is a fabulous city, too!! Oh that is what I loved about the doggie! He/she just sat there like any other passenger! It was great!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. I love the story and the photos. And Golden Retrievers also.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Bruce! Goldens are my favorite; however, I love all doggies, who am I kidding? *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      The dear soul, bless! That doggie sat as good as ‘gold’ *pun intended because you know how I am*!!! Cher xo

      Like

  6. So delightful! I just LOVE this.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah thank you, Debra! It was such a heart-warming sight!! Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I completely agree, Joseph!! Cher xo

      Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I feel the same way, Hilary! It was something I’ll never forget! Cher xo

      Like

  7. Aquileana says:

    Awesome… At the first I thought the dog was a woman’s head (with blonde hair)…. 😛
    Best wisehs, Aquileana 😀

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, Aquileana, I must let you in on a little secret; my mother and my mother-in-law thought it was ME in the photo at first! *LOL* And to you my dear, Cher xo 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Don says:

    What a wonderful story Cher. I can just see him/her sitting there and watching the world go by. They say you can tell the quality of a nation by the way it treats its animals. The little scene you have painted does precisely that.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless you, dear Don! Thank you so much for your words! It was the serenity and ‘normal-ness’ of the moment that made me enamored with this dear soul. I wholeheartedly agree, Don; it is a measure that I look for as well in a nation to get the real ‘picture’. Thank you, Don!! Cher xo

      Like

  9. gillswriting says:

    This made me smile and chuckle, thanks! In Spain I used to take my parrot to work with me on the train (in a cat box) every time we entered a tunnel he would laugh out loud causing many a strange look and lots of conversation about the laughing cat! Thanks for the visit to my humble blog. Gill Xxx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh my dear you made ME laugh out loud! That is absolutely hysterical! I love it! I’m now following your blog, Gill! Thank you for visiting my humble blog! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. gillswriting says:

    Thanks for jogging the memory! Be happy xxx

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Gill! I am still laughing about it! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Jeanne says:

    We need more stories like this in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you Jeanne! It was such a wonderful moment to see this dear puppy sitting quietly beside his ‘dad’, just enjoying the day!! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Traci York, Writer

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

