The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Lake Michigan Sunrise Feb 20 2015

What a wonderful sunrise this morning!  I was in awe of the streaky, wispy clouds that seemed to hover above Lake Michigan this morning.  The sun began to rise, and the pattern of criss-cross clouds appeared above.  It almost seemed as if the clouds were trying to replicate their version of a spotlight at some fancy premiere.  You know what I mean; the spotlights that compete for, well, the spotlight! *grin*  I think of the old days of Hollywood when a movie premiere forced a couple of spotlight operators to flood the night’s sky with beams of light which only seemed to detract from the main event, not necessarily highlighting it.

How can you tell I think a lot about these clouds? You may also notice the lake has a rather dulled sheen to it; there is some ice on the surface, but it’s not frozen by any means.

I hope you have a magical Friday!

25 thoughts on “The Friday File………….brushstrokes of streaky clouds

  1. This was a magical picture for a magical Friday!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you, Kimberly! And I hope you have a magical weekend, my dear! cher xo

      Like

      1. lemmerson60 says:

        Wonderful photograph. 90% of the Great Lakes are frozen, even Niagara Falls!! Keeping warm in Paris!!

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Keep your woolies close, dearie! Now there’s something unusual that Niagara is frozen! Wow!!! Big hugs and love, Cher xo

        Like

  2. John says:

    Beautiful photo! It has been colder in southern Michigan than I can remember. Glad we left.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, John! I am most certain you are glad you left Michigan! *LOL* Cher xo

      Like

  3. tkmorin says:

    Wow! So beautiful! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I was in awe this morning!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tkmorin says:

        I can imagine seeing it in person … again, Wow! Have a great weekend, Cherry! 🙂

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you, Teri! It is an ever-changing painting and I love it! Have a great weekend, too! Thanks!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  4. charlypriest says:

    That is quite a sight you have there. Would love to wake up to that, have my cup of coffee and of course my cigarette watching that. Great photo, quite amazing really.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you, Charly! Well, I have the coffee watching the sunrise (no cigarettes) but I am sure there are a lot that do exactly as you described! We are extremely lucky and grateful! Cher xo

      Like

      1. charlypriest says:

        You sure live in a place with some beautiful sights, and great photography as always.

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah bless! You are way too kind, my dear! Thank you! I think I am a horrible photographer, but I sure do have fun trying! cher xo

        Like

      3. charlypriest says:

        That´s what it most counts, having fun, with whatever a person does. The day I stop having fun writing then I stop, but I doubt that day will come. You are a good photographer, I´m actually getting to have a pretty good eye with photography after following so many photographers here in wordpress. Would like to tackle it someday, and make a living out of writing and photography. A loooong shot, but dreams are free( unlike a goo camera) so I´ll keep dreaming.

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        You know, you are right about having fun. Awh, thank you so much! I say to you, why not? There is no reason you couldn’t do your writing and photography professionally! I think anyone with a dream such as yours is always a wonderful starting place, don’t you? Cher xo

        Like

      5. charlypriest says:

        Well there is that dream to hold on to that maybe just maybe one day I can earn a living out of it. But the worst thing I can do is stress myself over it, and also be realistic about it. So yeah, having fun with this ride.

        Like

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        Keep visualizing as if it already existed; that’s the stuff dreams and made of! You are right; the worst thing to do is stress over it. Timing is everything; keep moving forward and as you said, have fun with the ride! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Amazing perspective those lines create, beautiful shot.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Hilary! I thought so too. It was as if brush strokes by an unseen painted created it for that fleeting moment, and I snapped the photo! Cher xo

      Like

  6. RMW says:

    Oh yes, I see those Hollywood spotlights… how appropriate with the Academy Awards this weekend!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I purposely didn’t mention that, and I had hoped someone would say it; and you did! Well done, dear! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Cher xo

      Like

  7. 2e0mca says:

    That’s a glorious sunrise – nicely captured!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Well you are much too kind; thank you so much! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Maritime Mac

Go Explore

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

Las Vegas Photoblog

Capturing The Other Las Vegas

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

