The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Squirrel Feb 24 2015

I seem to be reverting back to my Canadian “apologize for everything” mode lately.  So here it is, I apologize for the poor quality of this photo!  We have a mayoral election happening today here in Chicago.  This was my first time voting as a U.S. Citizen!  As I was approaching my polling center, a rather strange scene occurred in my peripheral vision.  A squirrel decided a snack break was in order, and sat down to munch on a cheese puff (in Canada we call them, “cheezies”).  I tried so hard to catch this little guy whilst he was munching away.  I could actually hear him crunching and I tried not to laugh lest he skedaddle away.  Just after I snapped the photo, away he went!

I watched him run under a tree; lo and behold, there were two other squirrels looking back at me with that crazy squirrel look of, “Hey, what are YOU looking at?”  “Haven’t you ever seen the Chicago Squirrel Society on a snack break?”

Mind you, I certainly don’t blame them; after all, even squirrels deserve time to enjoy the fruits of their labor.  Or, in this case, snacks surreptitiously stolen from voters unaware!  Quite the stealthy group, these Chicago squirrels!

15 thoughts on “It’s Squirrel Snacky Break!

  1. Allie says:

    I am not Canadian, but I apologize for literally everything. People have called me out on it. Maybe I should look myself up on ancestry.com, eh?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Allie my dear, I hereby bestow upon you the title of, “Honorary Canadian”; you may now continue apologizing! *LOL* In fact, if you apologize for not previously apologizing for something, consider yourself a “bona fide” Canuck!! I apologize if I didn’t spell that correctly!!! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Allie says:

        Oh I’ve done that. And I also am a die hard hockey fan. I’m already most of the way there it seems

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        You most certainly are! Once you add hockey to the mix, I think we’re suppose to give you a passport!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. John says:

    The puff is a great score for the little critter, packed with calories which will help him stay warm. Oh Canada!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you, John! We have a huge squirrel community in my area! A couple of years ago (in fact, about two blocks from today’s little snacky session) I saw a squirrel carrying the silver liner from a cigarette pack! I still can’t believe it, but there he was, propped up, holding the liner! I recall thinking, okay, perhaps a new way to store his winter food; maybe this is how the squirrels are in Chicago! *grin* cher xo

      Like

  3. andy1076 says:

    Now wait a minute, Aren’t they coming back a little early? O.o

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Alo Andy! You mean the squirrels? Ah, they are running around Chicago all year long!!! *LOL* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. andy1076 says:

        wha!??! don’t they know the seasons 😛

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Not here they sure don’t! ;-P

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Cher – funny post! In the UK, those snacks are called Cheesy Wotsits and they’re very popular. We Brits also tend to apologize for everything; may be you inherited it from us?!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you, Veronica! I KNOW we did! Oh, I wish we would inherit the Cheesy Wotsits! Brilliant name!!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. Joseph Nebus says:

    Well, squirrels are almost unable to take a bad picture, too. They’re just irresistibly personable and a little larcenous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Quite right on all accounts, Joseph!! Cher xo

      Like

  6. nikibayard says:

    so sweeeeet 🙂
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

