The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

blog-topics

– image courtesy of http://www.socialfresh.com

I thought I’d take a line from Monty Python fame and declare, “And now for something completely different.”

I would like to introduce a new series entitled, “Requesting Your Requests”.  Is there something you would like me to write a post about?  Perhaps there is a Chicago feature/place/idea/pizza (you know pizza has to be in there due to our strict Chicago deep-dish pizza laws – *grin*) you’ve heard about, and just have to know more! Or, you could make something up and see what I do with it!

What do you think?  I would absolutely love to hear your ideas, suggestions, comments, and questions! The comment section is open!  Thank you, everyone!

58 thoughts on “Requesting Your Requests!!

  1. tinyexpats says:

    I love seeing new places, so, to be honest, anything about Chicago city would be interesting for me, as I’ve never been there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Consider it done! Thank you! Cassidy’s comments on this post are wonderful; I’ll be taking her suggestions so stay tuned! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you done anything on Navy Pier? Has it changed any of late? Also, most people would probably find the underground walkway from Millennium Station to the Daley Plaza interesting. After all, famous movies were shot at both ends. 🙂

    Speaking of which, maybe a Chicago Movie Landmark post would be good . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Cassidy! Recently I have only posted about Navy Pier regarding the Odyssey cruise I’ll be taking in a few weeks; it starts from Navy Pier. What fantastic suggestions! I love every one of them! Thank you, Cassidy! *big grin of appreciation* Cher xo

      Like

  3. floridaborne says:

    One of former relatives (by marriage) lived in a condo. The only thing I remember about it was that the location was south of Chicago. At the end of the condo was a fence. I looked over the fence to see a mine that looked about a mile deep straight down. I always wondered about the wisdom of having a place built that close to the edge and hoped no children lived in the area. I can’t remember the name of the city, but the only way you could tell it wasn’t Chicago was the sign.

    Could you tell us a little bit about that mine?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Wow, I will do some research about this mine. Yes, I sure will! Thank you for your comments (and for me personally it is a, “You learn something new everyday” moment!) Cher xo 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. D. Parker says:

    I can’t think of anything specifically, my Chicago experiences are the alternative band scene kind, many years ago…but I love pizza and I love your photos and posts of everything…more history? I love history. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Absolutely, Donna! Actually, I will see if I can find out about the alternative band scene here in addition to pizza, history, and more history! Thank you so much for your comments!! Cher xo

      Like

  5. seaangel4444 says:

    My mother just sent me an email to ‘request a request’; she would like to hear about Mr. Walgreen who was from Chicago. Mr. Walgreen started the drugstore chain, “Walgreens” (but you already knew that, didn’t you?). The business started over 100 years ago. There are no Walgreens stores in Canada, but they sure are popular here in the US! Sure thing, Mom! Love, Cher xo

    Like

  6. 2e0mca says:

    You mentioned Pizza – suggested unusual vegetarian options please 🙂 A little something about your rail network would be nice too… Thanks for asking! Any questions about London you want to ask me?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, brilliant! Thank you for your ideas, and I shall be happy to oblige! Yes, London is a place I would utterly love to visit some day! I would like to know if there are restaurants that only the locals know about; off the beaten tourist path? Thank you!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 2e0mca says:

        Restaurants… Think I might just be able to assist there! Give me a week or so to respond as a post 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Terrific! Thank you so much! I’ll look forward to it! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Austin says:

    I’d like a post about when Winter is expected to end. Please make it accurate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Austin!! Hhhmmm, okay, I will pay a visit to the Chicago Crystal WeatherBall & get back to you!! 😉 Oh no, do you still have snow? 😦 Cher xo

      Like

      1. Austin says:

        Yes, I posted more photos a little while ago. It never stops snowing here!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I’m going to take a look at your photos! Meh to the snow!! I can’t believe I am from Canada; I hate snow and I’d take L.A. weather any day! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Austin says:

        No more snow!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. andy1076 says:

    Deep dish pizza! 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Really Andy? I thought you were going to say ice cream places!! ;-P Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. andy1076 says:

        Ice cream pizza! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Hahaha, er, I’ll definitely work on finding that! Cher xo 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. andy1076 says:

        Don’t forget lots of photos! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        *clink* You betcha!! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Sandy Pereira says:

    Most definitely cuisine! Also – what’s up with the Bean?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      You’ve got it, Sandy! Do you mean what is it? Cher xo

      Like

  10. I’m not sure if you write flash fiction, Cher, but if you do I was wondering if you would write a piece entitled “The Windy City”, which of course had the setting of Chicago, and to include at least three photos of different parts of the city.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Hugh! I haven’t written fiction in quite some time; however, I certainly would love to work on something again. Would you like me to try, Hugh? Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please do, Cher. I wrote and published a piece of flash fiction on my blog last week, and I really enjoyed writing it. I hope you do to. xx

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you so much, Hugh! I shall look forward to writing it!! Brilliant idea! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Are there special places to get chocolate in Chicago? I have a major sweet tooth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Christy, are you familiar with, “Fannie May”? It has been around since 1920. I believe it started in Chicago, and there are lots of stores around the city. I must tell you that the manager of one of the stores knows me by name; yes, I am a frequent buyer! Would you like me to write about Fannie May Chocolates? Cher xo P.S. Major sweet tooth here, too! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Cher, Ohhhh!! Yes, please, could you write about Fannie May Chocolates? I would be honored if you wrote a post related to my original idea. Thank you xo PS I would share chocolate with you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Consider it done! I’d share chocolate with you, too! Thank you Christy!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Ompong says:

    When I was in Chicago way back in the mid 90s, I was unable to visit the “jazz bars” which I understand Chicago is famous for. I would love to see a photo of a musician playing a saxophone in a popular jazz bar in the city… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh, I am sorry you didn’t get a chance to do that when you were here! I shall put that on the list!! Thank you!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ompong says:

        Yehey! Lots of thanks in advance… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, you are so welcome! I will try really hard to get some information!! Thank you so much for your comments and great suggestion! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Joseph Nebus says:

    Well, I’ve long had an interest in amusement parks and as with any decent-sized city Chicago has a couple of intriguing lost ones. White City operated from 1905 to about 1933, with some parts remaining until around 1950; is there anything that can be said about the park now? And if that’s too easy in the 1880s there was a park known to the Roller Coaster Database only as State Street Park; is there information about that available?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Now that is most intriguing, Joseph! Are you familiar with Riverview Amusement Park? Apparently it was in operation from the early 1900s to 1967, I’m going to do some research about both the White city and State Street Park! Thank you so much for these intriguing parks! Cher xo

      Like

  14. JohnRH says:

    The Palmer House Hotel, interior lobby, bronze doors, Tiffany aspects, u-name-it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi John, I most certainly can do that. In fact, I walk past the Palmer House at least once a week. Marvelous place! Thank you so much for the suggestion! Consider it done! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I second tinyexpats 🙂 I have never been to Chicago and curious with it 😉 Thanks so much for the opportunity! Have a fantastic weekend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Excellent! Thank you so much, Indah! Consider it done! And to you as well; thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  16. Josh Wrenn says:

    Anything but deep dish…it will make me too hungry!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Welcome to The Chicago Files, Josh! Ah, I hear you! 🙂 🙂 I’ll make sure there are some posts with no trace of cheese or tomato sauce in sight! Cher 🙂

      Like

    2. Ellen Hawley says:

      Why is it that no matter what time you leave Minneapolis you get to Chicago during rush hour?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. seaangel4444 says:

        *LOL* Funny you should say that! The exact thing happened to our Canadian guests last weekend when they stopped in MN for a night! 😉 Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  17. Speaking of Jazz bars (one of your comment folks did earlier), too many years ago to count, there was a basement bar called ‘The Gate of Horn’ – near Chicago and State… Enjoyed the jazz there many an evening and some Sundays … Doubt if it’s still around after all the years.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Billy Ray! I know exactly where that corner is, but I don’t recall seeing a bar by that name. However, I will be happy to investigate!! Thank you for the request! Cher xo

      Like

  18. laura kilty says:

    What a cool idea! Thanks for requesting our requests!! I would like to know how long you would suggest is a good amount of time to see the city and maybe a mini itinerary for it- like “5 days in Chicago, do this…” And I would be interested in hearing about vegan and veggie restaurants there. You have inspired me Cher, I am totally going to visit the Windy City later this year!!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Why thank you, dear Laura! Absolutely! I shall add that to the request list! Brilliant idea my dear! Come and visit Chicago!! Awh, bless! Thank you!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Fabulous idea! How about the subway?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      That is a great idea!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, architecture, holy stuff and plant-based sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

Vegan Mystic

Inspiration for a vibrant mind, body & soul

