The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Gettysburg canon

I have been meaning to post this photo for quite some time.  I took this picture in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.  For those of you who are not familiar with this particular area of the globe, Gettysburg is the site of an exceptionally important and historical event.  In 1863, the American Civil War (North vs South) was in full swing; the, “Battle of Gettysburg” took place from July 1-3, 1863.  This is when/where the history of the United States changed forever, as the Union Army (North) gained control over the Confederate Army (South), and consequently won the war two years later.  Approximately 52,000 soldiers were killed or wounded over the 3-day barrage.

President Abraham Lincoln gave a famous speech which became known as, the “Gettysburg Address” on November 19, 1863 at the dedication of the Soldiers’ National Cemetery.  Here is a link if you would like to read it:  http://www.gettysburg.com/bog/address.htm.

I must tell you the entire town of Gettysburg was battleground during those 3 overwhelming days in July, 1863.  The above photo shows a cannon overlooking one of those battlefields.  The feeling I had when I looked at the area in front of me was surreal.  My mind was racing, as what I observed with my eyes felt calm, even serene.  It almost felt wrong, if that makes sense, for what transpired on this very ground was anything but pastoral.

I would like to return to Gettysburg and do a lot more exploring.  To say the least, the history of this hallowed ground is fascinating.

31 thoughts on “Gettysburg: Hallowed Ground

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    Always wanted to go to the major battlegrounds of the “War of Northern Aggression” (given that the South started it with the attack on Fort Sumter, I never understood how they could call it that), but I would love to go there and check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It’s an amazing place, Josh! *LOL* Yes, the first shot was fired at Fort Sumter so I am unclear as to why it is referred to as the, “War of Northern Aggression”. Believe it or not, my Canadian parents go to Gettysburg twice a year! Something about it that draws them back time and time again! Cher 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Josh Wrenn says:

        Hope I get to go.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Joseph Nebus says:

        Basically, the “War of Northern Aggression” comes from Southerners trying to pretend that the war was about many complicated things, instead of the Southern demand that nobody ever say that there might be anything the least little bit wrong with enslaving people.

        Like

  2. andy1076 says:

    A great number of souls still walk these field for sure

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I felt it, Andy. Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. D. Parker says:

    I always feel so chilled at spots like that, as though somehow the ground and air still hold the pain and horror. This photo captures that well, Cher.

    Hope this week is a good one for you. Big hugs, Donna xo

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      You are right, Donna. It is such a indescribable feeling. I cried many times while there. And to you as well my dear; thank you! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  4. cadeauca says:

    I got the chance to travel to Gettysburg and tour some of the battlefields back in high school. I remember standing on Little Round Top, trying to imagine what it must have felt like for the Union soldiers who came running down that hill. Like you, I would love to go back!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, yes, you were exactly where I was, behind the high school. And oh my goodness, Little Round Top holds some incredible energy. Yes, to imagine that feeling of being a Union solider running down the hill!! So much happened there. Yes, it would be great to explore more, wouldn’t it? Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Rochester Raven says:

    How appropriate! Last Thursday April 9th was the 150th anniversary of the official ending of the Civil War. Lee had surrendered to Grant at Appomattox. Thus, only four days ago, bells tolled all over the land, including those from the church across from our home. They rang for 4 minutes to commemorate the four years of the war. I got the chills listening to them ring. It was a sobering experience. We also have a historic Victorian Cemetery about a mile north of us that had bells, fife & drums playing, and actors doing a reenactment.. There is a lot of Civil War history in this cemetery and in our part of the country. .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hearing those bells would be incredible. The sound would be such a profound reminder of the phenomenal, historical significance of the Civil War. Thank you so much for sharing this. Cher xo

      Like

  6. Aquileana says:

    Gettysburg: Great things happened there… Thanks for sharing a bunch of USA historic facts with us… Very interesting, dear Cher.
    Best wishes! Aquileana ⭐

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Le plaisir est pour moi! Merci! Best wishes to you too, dear Aquileana! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve never heard of it as “the War of Northern Aggression” Cher. I didn’t know that April 9th was the official ending of the Civil War. So much info I’m learning from you. Terrific! Great post. The older I get, the more I appreciate history. Never liked it in school!! 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, dear Carol! I keep learning a lot about American history, as we don’t learn much about it in Canada. Well, we do learn some, but primarily it is Canadian and European content. I will post more about Gettysburg in the future. Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Poetsmith says:

    An interesting piece of history! Thanks for the information, Cher 🙂 Love, Iris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, dear Iris! It was an incredible time in this country’s history; the more I learn about it, the more I want to know more! Love, Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  9. sachemspeaks says:

    Thank you for this posting Chicago Files
    A agree with you that many Gettysburg areas and anyplace else drenched in the blood of war should be hallowed ground and that each place is in fact surreal this is why I hate Hollywood’s moves about war and why I do not like people trampling all over this hallowed ground playing war games stepping on places where our ancestors both theirs and mine lie bleeding and in pain?
    I am not so sure about the reasoning that this hallowed ground is fascinating?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much for your comments! I really appreciate them and I agree with everything you wrote. Yes, I also believe any place that has seen the blood of war should be hallowed ground. I don’t like Hollywood movies about war either. War games should never be allowed on grounds where suffering took place. I wonder about that too; why is the hallowed ground so fascinating? It seems to resonate with so many people for some reason. When my Canadian parents go to Gettysburg, they honor those who fought in this battle, and they are solemn and quiet on their walks of the area. But there is one thing my parents can absolutely not tolerate, and that is when parents allow their children to climb on the monuments honoring the soldiers. My mother says, “How can anyone be so disrespectful for what happened here?” I agree! Cher xo

      Like

  10. I can see from the image that the nature surrounding is beautiful. Love to see those green trees! A special place with history 🙂 Thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh yes, it really is a beautiful area, Indah. Yes, I love those green trees, too! A very special place in this history of the US. Very solemn place. Thank you, Indah! Cher xo

      Like

  11. 2e0mca says:

    There should always be a sense of reverence when we view any place of human significance. Gettysburg, Runnymede are examples – they should make us hold our breath as we consider the importance of what went down at these places. And each part of the Human world and its culture has so many of these punctuations of history that we can and should learn from – and learn to share also!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Your words resonate with me so strongly. I agree wholeheartedly. I am not certain what makes us forget these valuable lessons that history has to teach us. I know how vital it is for we humans to understand our misgivings in order to move forward. It should not be without great contemplation that we walk around these important, significant areas of our planet. Thank you so much for your words!!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Joanne Corey says:

    My daughter went to Gettysburg College, so we are very familiar with the area. For three semesters, she lived in a house that the College was renting from the Lutheran Seminary, meaning that she lived on Seminary Ridge, which was an important area for the battle. It’s true that almost every building in town was used as a hospital, with so many gravely wounded.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Joanne and a big welcome to The Chicago Files! Oh did she? Yes, I know the area you are referring to; Seminary Ridge. It was a very important area for the battle indeed. I guess at that time they had literally turned almost the entire town into a hospital. Fascinating history. Thank you so much for your comments, Joanne! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  13. So close to my old home town!! Great memories and I love your Chicago posts as well which is our favorite big city!! Thank you for the memories😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Well thank you kindly! That is so thoughtful of you to say! It’s a wonderful city, and I look forward to sharing a lot more! Please stay tuned!!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely have a new follower😆

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        As do you! Thank YOU and welcome to The Chicago Files!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Traci York, Writer

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

