The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Well Street Bridge 2

Chicago is not just a city, ‘with a view’; there are so many ‘views’ it is quite difficult to even begin to pick a favorite!  Having many bridges in the city provide ample opportunities to obtain some very interesting photos.  I took this photo yesterday from the, “Wells Street Bridge”.  There are approximately 40 moveable bridges in the Chicago area; downtown Chicago has 20 of these bridges, including the one I was standing on to take this photo.

Boating season runs each year from April 15th to November 15th, with a whopping 30,000 times a bridge is lifted to let a boat glide through.  Surprisingly, it only takes about 8 minutes for this entire process to occur.  The bridges do not open everyday; in fact, there is a schedule which boaters must abide by, lest they find themselves in a bit of a quandary should they wish to proceed down the Chicago River during ‘off’ times.

Quite an ‘uplifting’ experience, don’t you think?

 

50 thoughts on “Chicago – Never a bridge too far!

  1. andy1076 says:

    The movie, dawn of the planet of the apes, that was using these bridges as a model for the set right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Good morning, Andy! Ah, wasn’t that the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco? I might be wrong? *slurping second coffee of the day to wake up* ;-P cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. andy1076 says:

        lol on a different movie, the scene I saw was the bridges raised up, three or four of them?

        I need a few cups myself!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        *gives Andy HUMUNGOUS keg of coffee* *clink* ;-P

        Liked by 1 person

      3. andy1076 says:

        Ah now we talkin!! ~Pours into wooden mug~!! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        HAHAHAHAHA, Andy! *need cream in mine, no sugar, thanks*!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. andy1076 says:

        eh I like it strong, black coffee works for me 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        I am coffee wimp, Andy! Need it diluted with tons ‘o cream! AH!!!! ;-(

        Liked by 1 person

      7. andy1076 says:

        but then it’s not really coffee anymore 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      8. seaangel4444 says:

        Bahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! ;-P *LOL*

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Another wonderful shot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I take that as the BIGGEST compliment coming from an outstanding photographer like you, Rob! Thank you so much!!! You must come to Chicago and take tons of photos!! Cher 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome! Yes I do need to do that for sure! I’ll get out there win the next couple years for sure :).

        Like

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Sometimes Chicago reminds me of one, big photo shoot! *LOL* There are literally hundreds of people taking photos of everything all the time! That’s great to hear, Rob! No doubt your pictures will be awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary says:

    Bridges photographs are beautiful! Reminds me of Pittsburgh and all there bridges.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Mary! Why yes, I think that Pittsburgh is known as the, “City of Bridges” if I am not mistaken! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mary says:

        I used to live there in the late 70’s – they were beautiful structures.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Oh did you, Mary? Then you know first-hand how beautiful they are!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Mike says:

    My kind of town!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Awesome, awesome, AWESOME! Thank you so much, Mike! I hope everyone clicks on this link to see a fabulous video of Chicago with song accompaniment by Frank Sinatra! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mike says:

        All of those bridges, they’re a bit of a pain of you’re going down that street at the wrong time. But, that’s Chicago!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        That video is fantastic, Mike! Thank you again! Yes, I agree; that’s Chicago!! *LOL*

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy says:

    Great shot! Some 40 moveable bridges in the Chicago area, Wow!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Amy! Isn’t that amazing? Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amy says:

        Love Chicago even more now via your photos. xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Awh, thanks, Amy! That is so incredibly thoughtful of you! I really appreciate hearing that!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Amy says:

        🙂 xo

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Poetsmith says:

    How interesting about these bridges! Nice photos, Cher 🙂 Have a great week. Love, Iris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Iris! It’s incredible to think how many bridges there are in Chicago; especially the moveable type! Thank you Iris, you too! Love, Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Poetsmith says:

        They are engineering feats, aren’t they? Thanks, Cher! 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        They really are! I’m always astounding at ingenuity! Thank you, Iris! xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  7. D. Parker says:

    Very uplifting, Cher, thank you. 😉
    Hope you had a lovely weekend and upcoming week. 🙂
    Big hugs, Donna xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Donna! 🙂 And to you as well my dear!! Big hugs, Cher xo

      Like

  8. Erika Kind says:

    I have never beein to Chicago. Hope one day I’ll make it. Interesting information. The photo is great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Erika! Why thank you! I think you’d love it here. I’ll be posting a lot more about this wonderful city! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika Kind says:

        Oh yes, please. I love the American cities.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It will be my pleasure! Being a Canadian living in this huge American city, I find so many differences between where I am from and where I now call home! I’ll keep exploring and writing about my findings! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Erika Kind says:

        I can truly understand that the differences are huge at times. I just recall the two cities of Niagara Falls. The Canadian side is the tidy and clean one… to say the least….

        Liked by 1 person

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Yes, I know what you mean! Chicago is a phenomenal city, and I daresay one of my favorite cities anywhere! I think I’m extremely fortunate to be a dual citizen!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Erika Kind says:

        That sounds great!!! Now I know who to ask for insider tipps once I go to Chicago 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        🙂 Absolutely!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. This is really a beautiful shot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thanks so much! It was hard to get ‘everything’ in the photo! *LOL* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think you did a great job! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        That is really kind of you to say; thank you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. nikibayard says:

    crikey!
    time for tea sweet pea
    Nx

    Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

Ruth Daly

Author

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Traci York, Writer

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

