The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Here is a post I wrote for one of my favorite blogs: “The Kindness Blog”. I hope you like the post!

Kindness Blog

kindness quoteIf there is anything that can bring out the crankiness in someone, it’s the repetitive words of a weatherperson on a Canadian Prairie winter morning with the identical forecast as the previous five days.

“And we’ll have sunny skies today, with a high of -30 celsius; winds will be out of the North/Northwest at 30 kilometers per hour.  Windchill advisory is in effect, making it feel like -45 celsius; exposed skin can freeze in less than one minute.  Bundle up, folks; after all, it’s Winnipeg in the winter!”

Great. 

Once again I needed to wear ten layers of clothing, two hats, a pair of mitts (with gloves over top), scarves so intertwined that I had lost count as to how many I was actually wearing. 

Ah, yes, three pairs of socks. 

My feet felt bound; I wondered if this was how the tradition of foot binding began; was it all…

View original post 755 more words

10 thoughts on “The Golden Heart of a Stranger – by Cher Garman

  1. What a lovely story Cher! I bet he appreciated your appreciation, as you might say!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Veronica! That is extremely kind of you to say! I honestly changed that day. This stranger taught me a valuable lesson of appreciating everything!! Cher xo

      Like

  2. Don says:

    Beautiful Cher. So moving. Thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you so much, Don. I will never forget that day. Cher xo

      Like

  3. 2e0mca says:

    Thank you for sharing this – wonderfully descriptive of the icy chill and the beauty of humanity that exists in the worst of conditions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank YOU so much for your thoughtful words. Truly, I will never forget that music man. It was one of those life changing moments that I am so incredibly grateful to have experienced! Cher xo

      Like

      1. 2e0mca says:

        He was singing a great song too – Love Neil Young’s ‘Heart of Gold’ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Me too! I love Neil Young and that is a wonderful song! 🙂

        Like

  4. Lovely and touching. I felt as though I was there with you. The description of your interaction with the “Stranger” was so vivid. Thank you for sharing such a heartwarming post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much! That is so thoughtful of you to say! It might sound silly, but as I wrote this post, tears were streaming down my cheeks, just like that day, but without the freezing temps! *grin* The memory of that day evokes a strong appreciation for this wonderful soul. Thank you again for your lovely comments!!! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

The Gay Stepdad

Mincing My Way Through Life

Done Dreaming

saving the best for now

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

thewanderingdarlings

The Wandering Darlings

A walk and a lark

Getting some fresh air and exploring the world

Ruth Daly

Author

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

ScaleitSimple

Simple and natural living

