The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday was an absolutely incredible day! We ventured out onto Lake Michigan aboard the phenomenal cruise ship, “Odyssey”.  I have so much to share with you about the cruise that I will be writing two posts about it:  Part 1 & Part 2!  But for today I wanted to show you this illuminating piece of navigational Chicago history.

While cruising the shoreline of Lake Michigan, we were able to get a closer shot of the Chicago Harbor Lighthouse.  Built in 1893 for the World’s Columbian Exposition, the lighthouse was moved to its present location in 1919.

Although not ‘required’ for literally ‘seeing the light’ to safely guide mariners into port, the Chicago Harbor Lighthouse is still a beacon for those making their way into the harbor.  GPS systems have replaced the need for the bright beams of a lighthouse; nonetheless, the Chicago Harbor Lighthouse was declared an official landmark in 2003.  It still shines brightly as a symbol of its long and significant maritime service of safety.  I am sure that although a ship’s captain ‘knows’ by their radar system that he/she is close to shore, viewing the light from the lighthouse must elicit a sense of comfort.

I have always loved lighthouses.  There is something calming about them.   I suppose in the literal sense I love them for what they are designed to do; bring ships and boats safely into the harbor.  But there is another aspect to it that I cannot describe.

What about you, do you have an affiliation for these guideposts too?

 

 

32 thoughts on “Chicago Harbor Lighthouse Will Show You The Way!

  1. Don says:

    I love the way they have continued to allow the light to shine. What a wonderful gesture of respect. Great post Cher.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Me too, Don! I think it does show a gesture of respect, doesn’t it? Keeping the history alive and well! Thank you, Don! Cher xo

      Like

  2. It sounds like you had a great time Cher 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      We really did, Irene, thanks! I am really looking forward to sharing photos and experiences in the posts about the cruise!! It’s a, “WOW” experience, that’s for sure! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 2e0mca says:

    Loved the Illuminating pun 🙂 That’s a rather nice lighthouse. Do you know the poem Flannan Isle – if not… I suggest you read 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Thank you my Finchley friend!! 🙂 🙂 I do not know that poem, but I am going to look it up right now! Thank you!! Cher xo

      Like

  4. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    That lighthouse is so cool…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I think so, too!! Wish we could go in it! Cher xo

      Like

  5. cadeauca says:

    “But there is another aspect to it that I cannot describe.” i know what you mean. I can’t explain why, but I’ve always wanted to explore a lighthouse. They seem so neat!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      They really do seem neat! I am glad you feel the same way! I was struggling to explain my fascination with them! Thank you for your comments!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nothing like a Bic Lighter for my guidance. Don xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hahahaha, Hhhmmmm, would a Zippo work better, Don??? Cher xo

      Like

      1. Zippo Marx or Zippo Lighter? XO

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well I’ll be dipped in chocolate sauce! Blimey mate, you got me again. Don xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. seaangel4444 says:

        Ahoy, hoy!! xo

        Like

      4. Full steam ahaid, Captain! XO

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Joseph Nebus says:

    My love is a lighthouse fan. Even has a book from the United States Lighthouse Society, with the chance to get stamps from participating lighthouses. There’s also a stunning number of rules for how to cover cases such as lighthouses which haven’t got stamps, to guard against people hoping to gain incorrect renown for their ability to see lighthouses.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Wow, I had no idea, Joseph! That is extremely interesting! Do you happen to know the name of the book? I’m interested in the rules you mentioned as well! Cher xo

      Like

      1. Joseph Nebus says:

        Oh, the book is a collectible thing, with mostly blank pages, from the United States Lighthouse Society. It doesn’t have much information about lighthouses directly in it. It’s like the National Parks Passport available at US National Parks and related places. The Society is organized to preserve, restore, and promote appreciation of lighthouses.

        (We’re in Michigan, which is great lighthouse-spotting territory, as the state combines a long coastline with a lot of commercial shipping in very difficult weather.)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you for the information, Joseph! Oh yes, Michigan; what a gorgeous state! I am going to look up lighthouses in Michigan! Cher xo

        Like

  8. RMW says:

    I enjoy light houses too…. on one trip back east we saw so many we decided at one point we really didn’t want to ever see another one.. but that lasted about 5 minutes until the next one came on the horizon. Something comforting about them.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Isn’t that funny? I think I’d be the exact same way! I feel that comforting feeling from them as well. Interesting, isn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

  9. We had a lighthouse on the end of Ramsgate Harbour, Kent, but in foggy weather we’d hear the foghorn going out on the Goodwin Sands in the English Channel. Really eerie sound. And we’d often hear the maroons going off when a lifeboat was needed in an emergency at sea.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Mo!!! Did you? Eerie no doubt! Not being able to see what is going on, but hearing that noise……wow…….. I’m picturing a novel here, dearie; one I’d like to write! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Cecilia says:

    Wow, sounds like a great experience! I love the picture, just awesome. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you so much, Cecilia! Truly I cannot wait to share more of the cruise with everyone! I hope you will come back and read more about it! Cher xo

      Like

  11. I love lighthouses, I always find them quite mesmerising at night – a pillar of guardianship and comfort!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I feel the same way! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and a big welcome to The Chicago Files!! Cher xo

      Like

  12. laura kilty says:

    My mum has always been obsessed with lighthouses and I have inherited her love- I now also check out all the ones near me when I am travelling! We saw some amazing ones in California, along the beautiful Big Sur. Looking forward to reading the next part- and I keep meaning to write you and say I love your new profile pic btw. Beautiful!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, they are wonderful, aren’t they? Oh wow, I bet the ones in California are incredible, like out of a dream! I can’t wait to share the Odyssey adventure, Laura! Well you are so extremely kind my dear; thank you so much!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Maritime Mac

Go Explore

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

Las Vegas Photoblog

Capturing The Other Las Vegas

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

SHARING THE POEMS SO YOU'LL BE INSPIRED TO OWN..My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

