The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Union Station 3

A few days ago I posted a photo of a lovely turn of the century (well, turn of ‘a’ century) light that I saw on my walk through Chicago’s Union Train Station.

I snapped this photo of the grandiose waiting area.  It is magnificent!  With marble columns and a skylight to naturally illuminate its beauty, this large and regal-like room reminds me of train travel in an era I can only use my imagination to experience.

I love this huge space and the way it makes me feel special.  Just think, anyone can become part of its lure and wonder by simply taking a seat on one of its sturdy, wooden benches and take it all in!  Quite a treat, I must admit!

26 thoughts on “Chicago’s Union Station – Cavernous Beauty!

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Wow, that looks beautiful. Whatever I saw by now about Chicago looks so very clean! I know this cleanness only from Boston.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, Erika! Yes, they keep Union Station looking really great! I looked up and saw the amazing natural light coming through! You would love it! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika Kind says:

        I am sure I would! Chicago is already on my bucket list 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, that is great to hear, Erika! xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. RMW says:

    I love train stations of all kinds… this one looks very majestic… love those shiny mirror-like floors!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh I do too! They are such a part of our history, aren’t they? Now you are very observant, my dear! Those floors are mirror-like! It is an incredible structure; I just love it! Have you ever seen Union Station in Los Angeles? It’s another beauty with its art deco, and Spanish colonial influences. Cher xo

      Like

  3. I’ve been there, Cher! xo

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      What????? Really????? I had utterly no idea, Don!!! ;-P Cher xo *LOL* *LOL*

      Like

      1. 12 years ago. 2003.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. masgautsen says:

    What a beautiful train station!

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It really is! I will post more photos sometime so you can see other areas! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. AthenaC says:

    I also love the Union Station architecture! Unfortunately, during the usual daily rush it feels like I’m the only one that wants to slow down for a bit and look. Glad you like it, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      So you know exactly what I mean! *LOL* All the rushing and always ‘on the way somewhere else’ makes it hard to notice the phenomenal surroundings. I am glad you like it as well!! 🙂 🙂 Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s almost cathedral-like. Very lovely! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It really is! I love that it hasn’t been ‘modernized’ yet preserved!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. laura kilty says:

    I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: I need to visit Chicago!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      You simply must, my dear! I know you will love it, Laura! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  8. lemmerson60 says:

    I so love old train stations, one that quickly comes to mind is the old train station in Brantrford, Ontario. It too has old pillars with huge marble floor tiles which echo off the walls as you walk across them. Take the 7:30 am VIA train every morning from Brantford ariving in Toronto 8:50 am. I wonder where everyone is traveling to…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t that cool! I absolutely love those old stations as well. I’m just so glad that so many of them are still preserved! I always think that too; everyone, where are you going??? Cher xo

      Like

      1. lemmerson60 says:

        Took the Midnight train going anywhere…. I’m not going anywhere…this was a few years ago on a trip from work! I love taking the train, you get to see much more of the country side!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Isn’t it great, dearie? I absolutely love it too! Rolling along on the rails! *LOL* Cher xo

        Like

  9. Nothing says nostalgia like an old train station!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I completely agree, Billy Ray! It’s so incredibly charming! Cher xo

      Like

  10. Joseph Nebus says:

    I’ve only been through Union Station once. It was grand, though, and I liked the experience, even if I didn’t quite have enough time to get to the train I needed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Uh oh, you missed your train, Joseph? Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

