The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Squirrel

I took the above photo last Spring.  I thought I’d share it with you today for a Monday morning laugh! I recall hearing the ‘scurry scurry’ of claws on bark.  When I looked up, I saw this little creature staring right at me.  I thought to myself, yes, here we are Mr. Squirrel; you looking at me looking at you!

It makes you wonder what on earth he was thinking!  Does she have some snacks for me? Has she stolen my snacks from me? Hey, where are my snacks? Hard to tell, really.

All I know is, this screwy squirrel was not taking any chances on me finding his nutty stash!

43 thoughts on “The Watchful Eye

  1. andy1076 says:

    He wants food for hibernation! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ice cream? *clink* ;-P Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. andy1076 says:

        exactly 😄😄

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Hehehehehe, Andy! Cher xo

        Like

  2. John says:

    Very successful rodents! They seem to live in every state and every climate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Indeed they are, John! The ones in Chicago are, well, exceptionally sneaky! 😉 cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a delicious – uh – I mean DELIGHTFUL neighbor!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oy kitty!!! *LOL* *LOL* cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. seaangel4444 says:

        Don’t try that cute kitty voice with me! *biggest grin* Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Now how can I resist? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. MOL!😸 Oh my kats! 🌹🌺🌻🌸

        Like

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Hehehehehe Wow, thank you! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hehehe! 😸 Glad to brighten your day!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. seaangel4444 says:

        Indeed you did! xo

        Liked by 1 person

      7. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you, kitty! Cher x

        Liked by 1 person

      8. You’re welcome sweetie!💜

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I live on an island and these were introduced to the island in the past. First the black and then the greys. They are scarce. I didn’t see a squirrel on the Island until 2 years ago and I have been living here 7 years. They are cute but can be destructive from memory of living back home back east.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I agree; they can most definitely be destructive! I think in this particular part of the country there are only grey squirrels. The area of Canada where I’m from has black and grey squirrels. I must agree they are cute, but my goodness they do get themselves into a lot of trouble! *well, trouble for other animals and humans* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have had a few close encounters with the squirrel kind that still make me chuckle today 🙂 The best squirrel story happened many years ago on a camping trip. We were tent camping, so no kitchen except to cook outside. My spouse was making pancakes. He slapped one on my paper plate and before I could even dig in a bird swooped down and stole it. Then proceeded to eat it with the other birds as well as the squirrels mere feet from our picnic table. Ballsy I have to say – ha!

    Happy Week – Enjoy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* *LOL* Oh my goodness, those little bums! They were most definitely watching the cooking, weren’t they? Ballsy is right! Hehehehe Thank you for the Monday chuckle my dear! Happy Week to you, too; thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  6. markbialczak says:

    Nice shot, Cher. A guy unwilling to share his nuts. So selfish!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thanks, Mark! I quite agree; how incredibly rude! 😉 Cher xo

      Like

  7. Maybe some nuts or fruit, they use to love this. He is so cute Cher 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Irene! If we combine nuts and fruit, we get a nice trail mix! That must be it! He is hoarding trail mix! *LOL* Isn’t he cute? But he sure looks bratty to me! *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You would be popular if you brought this mix for him.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Well I most certainly would be, wouldn’t I, Irene? *LOL* Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  8. That squirrel looks a bit pudgy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      You noticed that too, huh? I thought that as well! *LOL* I think that’s why he was giving me, “the eye”; he doesn’t want to share his snacks at all! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! I think he may have already eaten all of his snacks. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I think you are absolutely correct!!! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  9. lemmerson60 says:

    Squirrels are an interesting lot. We have one tiny Red Squirrel among the traditionally larger grey/black ones and he is the biggest bully I’ve ever seen to all the other squirrels. He is just plain MEAN !! He chases all the others out of our yard, stealing any food put out for others he eats ALL OF IT. He’s one lean, mean Red squirrel machine! What personality’s smallest of creatures have.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I don’t think I’ve seen a red squirrel in years! Yes, they really can be the bully of the neighborhood. Did you see the photo of the bunny that I posted a few weeks ago? I had to chase a squirrel away that was about to go after the bunny! Little bums! That red squirrel probably chases a lot of birds away, too I’ll bet! Oh yes, they sure do have quite the personalities, don’t they dearie? Cher xo

      Like

  10. Little creature. Hmmmmm.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Indeed, David. Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Aquileana says:

    Wonderful capture, dear Cher… I love the way he stares at you!!!… All my best wishes. Aquileana 🍓🌺🌴🌞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, merci dear Aquileana! Yes, he certainly captured my attention with staring at me!!! Hehehehe And to you all my best wishes as well!! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

