The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Comfort Zone

It’s a rainy Saturday evening here in Chicago.  My ever-changing, always artful scene of Lake Michigan is quite hampered at the moment, as a shield of fog has completely ‘dampened’ the view.  Strangely comforting, I might add.  You know, like a favorite blanket; comfortable, calming, and familiar.

Ah, that leads me to my topic for my Saturday evening chat!  Comfort:  it can appear in all sorts of forms, can’t it?  Why, besides comfy blankets, perhaps we find ourselves with various foods that bring comfort and instant happiness.  Maybe it’s music, or places and experiences.  Comfort zones.

When we are out of, or away from our comfort zones, things become awkward, uneasy, and at times, downright frightening.  I recall an experience I had when I first arrived in Chicago.  As I approached a grocery store entrance, I noticed something extremely unfamiliar to me:  security guards.  What on earth?  I had never experienced such a sight before, and it unnerved me.  Was there to be a sudden stampede due to a sale on melons?

I relaxed somewhat when I entered the store; things seemed fairly straight-forward; but wait! Do my eyes deceive me, or is that………… yes, it is an alcohol section! In a grocery store!  Once again my comfort zone zen was shaken a bit.  For some of you this may seem trite and silly; however, everyone has their own comfort zones, and for me, whiskey and packaged walnuts somehow didn’t fit together.  Nonetheless, I soon became quite used to liquor and laundry goods sold under the same roof.

Liquor in grocery store

And then, just as I felt I was building a new comfort zone level, something that had never happened to me occurred when I least expected it.  As I extended my short self’s reach to an upper shelf for a large bag of Cheetos (in Canada we call them, “Cheezies”) a man approached me and said, “Hey, can ya give me 10 bucks?” I dropped the Cheetos, dashed away as fast as I could, and virtually almost ran down a store clerk.

“Ma’am, is everything alright?” asked the clerk.  Perhaps I should have asked him that, now that I think about it; after all, I almost knocked him over.  With what must have been the most bizarre look on my face I managed to say, “A man………..he asked me for ten dollars………….he’s in the snack aisle.”  Clearly the fellow realized this was my ‘first rodeo’ as the saying goes.

He nodded his head but said not a word.  I continued:  “I’m from Canada, and nothing like that has ever happened to me before in a grocery store!”  With a grin as wide as the aisle this dear fellow said, “Well, you’re in Chicago now!”  And with that, I realized my Canadian comfort zone was gone.

Since that experience, I’ve had this sort of thing happen a number of times with nary a second glance from yours truly.  Adaptable creatures, we humans.  And so, I find that my comfort zones have shifted somewhat.  I guess you could say I am continuously expanding awareness of my surroundings, and I do believe that is always a good thing.  We grow when we step outside of our comfort zone.

What about you, do you have certain ‘comfort zones’, foods, or situations that bring you a cozy blanket feeling?

Oh, I must sign off for now; my favorite tv program is starting, and I need to get wrapped up in my comfy comforter!  Okay, some comfort zones remain the same no matter where I am!

Blanket comfy

16 thoughts on “Saturday Evening Chat – Comfort Zones!

  1. Mike says:

    Dreary day here in Mad Town. Two inches rain last night, must and gloom all day. What a Saturday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      That is a lot of rain, Mike! Dreary Saturday indeed! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to Chicago is right. LOL Glad you found your footing. I wish things like that didn’t happen but they do. I’m glad you’re okay:) It’s supposed to be nice out tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thanks dear! I’ve been here for over 5 years, and truthfully, at first that experience in the grocery store freaked me right out. Me too; I wish things like that didn’t happen either. Whenever we have Canadians come and visit us here in Chicago, I always give them the “Chicago speech”. Just little things that I know are most definitely out of their comfort zones. Oh it is supposed to be nice out tomorrow? Yeay! I didn’t know that; thank you for telling me! I hadn’t checked! Cher xo

      Like

  3. lemmerson60 says:

    Thanks for the heads-up Cher ! Sometimes stepping outside of our own comfort zone can prove to be positive growth experience. Like starting the first day of school. Butterflies or the jitters can help you realize overcoming this feeling can be a learning experience in many ways. I think I would’ve jumped out of my skin too if that happened to me in the grocery store. Thanks for sharing on this dismal Saturday evening. “It’s always sunny here in Paris !”

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dearie! Yes, I agree. I don’t often like to step outside of my comfort zone(s), but when I do it is usually a good thing. Oh yes, I think you would have felt the same way as I did with someone coming up to you in a grocery store asking for cash! And so specific; a tenner! *LOL* It is supposed to be sunny here today but it’s not; I bet it is sunny in Paris!!! Cher xo

      Like

  4. You had something new to learn there Cher. I tried also many new things, when I moved to Spain, where everything were different to me.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I most definitely did, Irene! You are right. Oh I bet moving to Spain lent itself well to stepping outside of many comfort zones!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ronnie says:

    The “melon stampede” bit, cracked me up. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hahaha, Can you just picture it, Ronnie? *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Don says:

    I always marvel at how a discomfort zone slowly becomes a comfort zone, Cher, and then it’s time to move on into some more discomfort. 🙂

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it an interesting part of life, Don? I love how you worded it; we always seem to be moving from one comfort zone, out of it, and into discomfort which then becomes comfortable! *grin* Ah, we humans; what a lot we are, Don! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Terry Tyler says:

    Like this post a lot ~ came just at the right time for slipping under the duvet and putting the telly on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you so much, dear Terry! I hope you have a cozy evening! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

photo roberts blog

ich zeige euch meine stadt wie ich sie sehe

Buffalo Tom Peabody's blog 2

The 9 Lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody, Gunther Tootie, Ignatius “IGGY” Rattlebottom-Bunn, Larry "Bubba" Flowers & Doodlesack. NO AWARDS. please.

But I Smile Anyway...

Musings and memories, words and wisdom... of a working family woman

Traci York, Writer

Wordsmith. Witch. G33k. Shutterbug.

Front Yard to Backcountry

Cozy Homelife to The Wilderness and Back Again

