The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A couple of weeks ago I posted a photo from our recent trip to California noting the infamous, “Hollywood” sign.  Here is another shot from the Hollywood Hills looking over at the City of Los Angeles.  Quite a lovely scene!  But I must say, our Chicago skyline cannot be rivaled (at least, in my humble, CanAmera opinion)! Walking in the Hollywood Hills was quite the challenge for yours truly.  “Hills” is putting it mildly! My goodness, coming from the flat, Canadian Prairie land to flat Chicago, and then attempting to traipse up THESE hills? Why couldn’t they have, “Hollywood Flatstones” or something of that nature! *grin*

11 thoughts on “Say Hello, LA!

  1. OMG you caught LA on a clear day. Santa Anna winds? My memory of landing in LA for the first time would be 30 something odd years ago. I was greeted with a thick orange haze over LA. I remember being a passenger in my friends car and my eyes began to water. I couldn’t understand it and my friend told me it is probably all the exhaust fumes. I never forgot that. I thought it would be much worse today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It’s actually much, much better from what I am told. California has done an extremely great job at clearing up pollution via strict emission standards. Clear days like this are actually the norm now. Wow, it would have been horrible to experience that pollution you mentioned. Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes it was horrible and a turn off of returning. I have been there 3 times and I’ve seen Los Angeles those 3 times. I don’t have a need to return although I do love Longbeach but I’m thinking that has been built up quite a bit from when the last time I was there. Thanks for the memories and I am glad they have strict emissions in place. That orange was gross.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I completely understand what you are saying. It would be off-putting for sure. No orange substances floating around (at least not what I could see)! Yes, California has done some incredible work helping make it a much, much cleaner place. Me too! I love Long Beach!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. John Holton says:

    Chicago’s skyline is one of the best, if not THE best, in the world. Problem is that most of us who live (or in my case lived) in Chicago live and work among the buildings that are part of it, and hardly ever see the panorama.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I agree with you, John. Did you see my post in the summer showing Chicago from the Willis Tower? I think the best way to get a true sense of the skyline is from Willis Tower. It’s a wonderful skyline, isn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

  3. Erika Kind says:

    Awh….. 😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Quiche says:

    Thanks for sharing . I had no idea California was so bad for smog pollution! Esp.when they boast “fitness” & health! Beauty photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dearie, it’s not like that anymore thank goodness! They’ve done a really good job at cleaning up car pollution with very strict regulations on car emissions, but I think ‘back in the day’ it was smog city!!! Thanks, my dearie! Cher xoxo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

Wheelescapades

Tea, Tours and Escapades

kirilson photography

the stories behind the pictures, and vice versa

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

