The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

New Mexico from train Oct 2015

During our trip to California in October, I took this photo of a building that must be the epitome of a Spanish-style structure in New Mexico.  I must say we only saw it for a fleeting moment; the train stopped, I snapped the photo, and once again we were rolling down the rails.

Quite the structure, isn’t it?  Do you feel the way I feel when I look at this photo?  Definitely in need of upgrading and repairs, I think it looks like something out of a Western movie.  The Spanish style cutouts make me feel as if I’ve been transported back in time to an era where the “Wild West” was alive and well.

I don’t know what this structure is, but it was a rather interesting building to create a time-stir!!

28 thoughts on “New Mexico – Wild West Moments

  1. 41 who the hell was counting. Beautiful old building. I could easily turn this into a home…watch my magic. Still hungover from your Christmas party. Thanks a lot eh!! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Well that is much more than I thought in that photo!! Wow! I am sure you could!! *LOL* Yeah, no doubt, eh? P.S. Your are welcome *HAHAHA* Cher xo

      Like

      1. seaangel4444 says:

        That is very cool! A new perspective for Chicago! Thank you for posting this! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes I thought it was and only mere beauty.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. seaangel4444 says:

        It’s so awesome! Thank you again for sending it! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dare I say that the building looks haunted to me, Cher. Good job you were not in front of it for too long 👻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Hugh! Actually, if I knew it was haunted I’d have jumped off the train to explore!! 😉 Cher xo P.S. Love the wee ghostie!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d have been right behind you, Cher. xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Erika Kind says:

    Western movie! That is a good thought! Where did you see it?

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thanks, Erika! It was in New Mexico, but I am trying to remember which train stop! There were so many! I’ll try and find out! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika Kind says:

        I love those buildings. But as you say it is a shame that it is not better taken care of.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I do too, Erika! I always feel bad when I see a lovely building not taken care of!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Is this on the railway? It his looks familiar to me. I think we had a ‘smoking stop’ there for the train staff.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Hilary, yes as a matter of fact, it is! You took the Southwest Chief, didn’t you? It is in New Mexico along that route. I
      will try and find out which stop it was. You may have stopped right there! Cher xo

      Like

  5. OneDizzyBee says:

    I love buildings like this. Whenever I see them, I find myself trying to imagine what they might have looked like when first built, in the context of what the surrounding area would have been like at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I do the exact same thing! It is wonderful to to and picture what it looked like, what was around it, and who was in it!! Cher xo

      Like

  6. Gorgeous. Fell in love with New Mexico. Almost moved there to Albequerque!

    Like

  7. Love it. Fell in love with New Mexico many years ago. Almost moved to Albuquerque.

    Like

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh did you, Carol? We stopped in Albuquerque! Cloudless sky! It is a beautiful state, isn’t it? Cher xo

      Like

      1. Absolutely, Cher. The natural scenery was breathtaking.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It sure is, isn’t it? Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  8. It is funny, that you call this Spanish style Cher. People here in Spain use to call it Marrocean style 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* Yes, I think it’s a North American thing, Irene! *LOL* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, architecture, holy stuff and plant-based sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

Karla Sullivan

Progressive old soul wordsmith

