The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

sunrise Lake Michigan Jan 12 2016 1

It’s quite cold here in Chicago this week.  The sun’s appearance from behind a curtain of clouds was most welcome this morning.  It looked as if the clouds were aligned in such a way as to give the appearance of a theater stage curtain.  The sun waited for the curtain to open, and voila, the long winter’s night was shattered by the sudden burst of orange energy permeating onto the frozen stage of Lake Michigan.

Take a bow, Miss Sunshine; we applaud your ‘brilliant’ performance today here in Chicagoland!

 

32 thoughts on “Sunrise Display

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Thank you, my dear! Cher xo

      Like

      1. I love Chicago, was raised there. Good to see you, Happy New 2016.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Well my dear, I adore your home town! Good to see you, too! Happy New Year from CHItown, ‘our’ town! 😉 Cher xo

        Like

  1. Beautiful… Have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Why thank you, dear Sue! You as well!! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Helen Jones says:

    Almost looks like mountains beyond the lake – beautiful! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi Helen! I agree! That is exactly what I thought, too!!! P.S. I sent you an email a few days ago! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Helen Jones says:

        Oh Cher – I did see it, but I’ve had one of those moments where I thought I replied to you but I didn’t! No worries about the treats, I’ll be happy whenever they arrive xx

        Like

  3. OneDizzyBee says:

    What a beautiful sight on such a cold, cold morning. Thanks for sharing it with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It was quite the site today my dear! I was extremely pleased the sun made an appearance first thing! Thank YOU!! Cher xo

      Like

  4. Erika Kind says:

    OMG is that beautiful, Cher! That is so very beautiful it almost looks not real. What photo? You can even see the rays of the sun…. 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It was gorgeous while the sun started to appear between the clouds! Yes, what photo? *LOL* I love the rays of the sun, too, Erika! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika Kind says:

        Beautiful….. you are blessed with such views!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        That is for sure, Erika!! I agree!! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful photo Cher. Not today in therapy LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *biggest grin* Thanks dear! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. John says:

    Lovely!! And the lake managed to freeze eh? A serious change in the weather from the abnormal but welcome warmth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi John! Well it’s moving now, but the surface was covered in ice this morning. No movement, but I see it’s slowly moving now (still lots of ice of course)! And there is a barge on the horizon chugging through)! Ah yes, abnormal but welcome warmth! I could use a bit of that right about now, John! 😉 Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. John says:

        The Coast Guard will be sending the icebreaker ships out soon. Inland seas of fresh water, so beautiful they are.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, right! They certainly are, aren’t they, John? You know, sometimes I see the barges on the horizon at night. The lights in the distance are so interesting to see! I can’t get a photo in the dark, so that’s why I’ve never posted any. But I often think, where are they coming from, and where are they going? The line from a Pink Floyd song often comes to mind: “A distant ship’s smoke out on the horizon”! 🙂 Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Absolutely love your photographs Cher – this is stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, thank you so much, dear Suzie!!! I appreciate it! Cher xo

      Like

  8. Mary says:

    I’m blinded by this stunning sunrise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it incredible, Mary? I thought so too! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it nice, Lyn? Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Its so pretty Cher!!

        Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

The Gay Stepdad

Mincing My Way Through Life

Done Dreaming

saving the best for now

Shelley Wilson

I Write. I Read. I Review

thewanderingdarlings

The Wandering Darlings

A walk and a lark

Getting some fresh air and exploring the world

Ruth Daly

Author

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

