The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Frank Lloyd Wright Children's Room 2

Continuing with our Frank Lloyd Wright series, have I got a surprise for you!  Last week I posted a photo from Frank Lloyd Wright’s Children’s Playroom

The above photo is at the ‘other end’ of the room! Can you see the choir-like area at the top?  The family used to have ‘concerts’ in this room, with an accompaniment of a Steinway piano (yes, that’s the one in the photo)!

Since Wright was, by all accounts, a very ‘particular’ sort of gent, he wanted to ensure the acoustics in the room were perfect.  Are you ready for the surprise?

Frank Lloyd Wright Children's Room 3 piano

Heading down a flight of stairs behind the children’s playroom is the back of the Steinway seemingly ‘floating’ in mid-air! Mind your head as you proceed back to the main floor lest you end up with a piano punch on your noggin!  Wright was so specific that the sound be nothing less than perfect in the playroom, he had a hole cut out in the wall behind the piano so it could ‘hang’ to provide perfect pitch in the curved ceiling room.

I have no words.

25 thoughts on “Frank Lloyd Wright Series: Musical Surprises!

  1. SD Gates says:

    How cool is that? A suspended piano!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Isn’t it cool? I couldn’t believe it when I saw it! That’s how much of a perfectionist Wright was! Wow! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You Got Me – I Am Speechless – WOW! – Genius!!! Happy Week – Enjoy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I quite agree my dear!! Happy week to you too; thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  3. At first you don’t see the piano is a grand. Imagine being in the choir loft!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi JoAnn! And there is the surprise! *LOL* Oh yes, I thought that very thing when I was in the room! What a wonderful experience it would be! They don’t let anyone go up into the choir loft; such a shame, as I’d love to have a little look around! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  4. D. Parker says:

    I thought I loved the room before, I love it even more now!!! Thanks Cher!
    Big hugs xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi dear Donna! Isn’t it cool? What a room! And to have a Steinway piano ‘balanced’ for maximum acoustics! My goodness!! Big hugs to you my dear! Cher xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. D. Parker says:

        I feel like I’m there with your pictures, Cher, you manage to put so much of your own wonderful personality in them they make me smile…and I don’t care how balanced that piano is, it would still sound funny if I played it.
        Hope this week is treating you well, lovely, best wishes for your week. Big hugs xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Ah, bless you dear Donna! Thank you so much! If you come to Chicago, I will personally take you there!! 🙂 *LOL* You and me both regarding the piano my dear! And it’s a Steinway which is an extremely well-made piano. Well, it wouldn’t matter about that for my playing ability (and the balancing act as you mentioned); I’d have people running for the exit! And to you as well my dear friend! Thank you, Donna! Big hugs, Cher xoxo

        Like

  5. Wow. Thanks for bringing that to us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      My pleasure! Thank you! Cher xo

      Like

  6. I have no words either!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* You see what I mean, Lynn! cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      🙂 *biggest grin* Cher xo

      Like

  7. Leyla says:

    wow.. very nice shots 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Why thank you, Leyla!! Cher xo

      Like

    2. seaangel4444 says:

      Leyla, I have been doing a Frank Lloyd Wright Series; did you see the other pics of the FLW “Children’s Room”? http://wp.me/p4doQv-10L

      Like

  8. Reblogged this on Sunshinebright and commented:
    A fascinating architect. Many thanks to Cher for this series on Frank Lloyd Wright!!

    Like

  9. Quiche says:

    How interesting. I have a similar plight…a great Western style piano in our basement will be there forever! The previous owner has moved the basement steps to accommodate a small bathroom underneath the stairs. That piano is staying put, it was made in Guelph, Ontario in the early 1900’s!! Worth a pretty penny but it’s not going anywhere soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh that must be quite the piano! Wow, so it’s at least 100 years old! I bet it weighs at least a ton! *LOL* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Cold Spot Paranormal Research: Ghosts Haunted

Investigating ghosts and haunted locations since 2002. We are paranormal investigators and researchers

witlessdatingafterfifty

Relationships reveal our hearts.

Door County In the Moment

Haiku by Don Krutek, inspired by the beauty of the Door Peninsula

The Final Curtain1

MUSINGS: Authors - Books - The World

Temporary

undergoing renovations

Bergen Photo Walks

walking tours of historic Bergen with the photographer in mind

