The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

Lake Michigan September 5 2016

Today is Labor (or in Canada, “Labour”) Day.  It’s a day of resting, relaxation, and (hopefully) doing absolutely nothing.  I can verify that is exactly what I am doing today.  Well, the only thing I am doing is writing this post to tell you that I’m doing absolutely nothing; which, in and of itself is something, isn’t it? Oh honestly, even when I am trying to do nothing that’s something!

Regardless of where you find yourself on this 5th day of September, I hope you find time to have a break and a few laughs to lighten up the ‘laborious’ day! 🙂 *LOL*

 

18 thoughts on “Labor Day: Rejoice in Doing Absolutely Nothing!

  1. John Holton says:

    It’s weird celebrating Labor Day now that I’m more or less retired…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Then every day should be Labor Day for you, John! You deserve to relax!! Cher xo

      Like

  2. John says:

    Doesn’t the spelling difference make you nuts? Frankly, I’m annoyed with whoever had the brilliant idea to alter the words. Britain, Australia and Canada use the correct spelling. Our spelling and dialect are wrong… I’ve worked the last three days, no holiday for me but am off the next two days. Hope you’ve had a good holiday. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hi John! Oh yes, I am constantly having to ‘switch’ my brain to the “American” way of spelling words! In fact, at work sometimes I am reminded not to use the ‘u’! *grin* I agree; Canada, Britain, Australia, et al are spelling correctly by using the ‘u’ in many words. Well I am so sorry you had to work (I worked 6 days in a row so you are in good company, my dear)! And yes, thank you, I am having a lovely holiday, my Michigan neighboUr!!! *biggest grin* Hope all is well in the desert! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. John says:

        Thanks! Things are good here, glad the summer heat is waning finally, temps now only in the 90’s!!! 🙃😋

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        “Only” in the 90’s, eh John? *grin* Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. John says:

        Yes indeed, and I can tell a big difference – barely sweated working today!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. seaangel4444 says:

        Wow, you really are acclimatized to that heat, John! Yikes! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  3. andy1076 says:

    eh I’m earning some overtime to later do absolutely nothing 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      *LOL* That will ‘work’ too, Andy!! Hehehe!! Cher xo ☆☆

      Like

      1. andy1076 says:

        Baroom k’ching! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Doing nothing is one of the best ways to spend a day haha! Hope you had a lovely time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      I completely agree, Suzie! *LOL* Oh yes, I most definitely had a lovely time doing nothing, nothing, NOTHING! hahahaha Thanks, Suzie! Cher ox

      Like

  5. Usually work just the same, Labor Days, or any other holiday. If something needs to be done then it gets done. But that’s OK with me, I take off
    any day I want.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Well I am glad you get to take time off when you want, Eddie! I know you work very hard! Blessings to you, dear Eddie! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Blessings to you too dear

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Thank you, Eddie! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts with us!

Book 'Em, Jan O

Ghosts, Tall Tales & Witty Haiku!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

swo8

Music means something

Voices from the Margins

A welcoming space for resistance to the forces of oppression and hegemony.

Travelling Vegan Mystic

Seeking history, holy stuff and harmless sustenance

Rantings Of A Third Kind

The Blog about everything and nothing and it's all done in the best possible taste!

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

This Moment

A place of peace. This Moment. A place where, together, we can learn to live here, as One. As it was meant to be.

The Wandering Flamingo

Wander Often • Wonder Always

Gin & Lemonade

...with a twist.

