The Chicago Files

A CANADIAN EXPAT'S EXPERIENCES AND OBSERVATIONS LIVING IN THE WINDY CITY!

macys-window-dec-17-2017-14

Well doesn’t Macy’s have a lovely Christmas display this year! This is one of the windows on display at Macy’s in downtown Chicago! My goodness it was crowded! I used my polite “Canadian self” to ask several people to please move out of the way so I could take a clear photo! Not amused, they moved anyway.  And to be honest, all I kept thinking was, “I have to get a good photo to share with everyone on my blog!”

Hope you can feel the magic! 🙂

22 thoughts on “More Macy’s Magic From Chicago!!

  1. John Holton says:

    State Street was wonderful this time of year. Did Macy’s keep the Walnut Room restaurant on the 8th floor? They used to have a great big tree up there with all kinds of decorations on it. Mom’s Aunt Marie used to take us to have lunch under the tree at Christmas.

    I know Macy’s bought it and renamed it, but it’ll always be Marshall Field’s to us. Mary and I first encountered each other there, forty years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Yes, this is that tree! I know that a lot of people still consider it Marshalls and always will! I took this photo from the floor above the Walnut Room. The folks sitting around the tree are doing what you did; having lunch under the tree! Cher xo

      Like

      1. John Holton says:

        All I can say is they had better not mess with the clock (i.e. the one at State & Randolph). That’s an icon.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        It sure is, John! So far it is still there and looking lovely! Cher xo

        Like

  2. Phil Taylor says:

    You should have told them that the picture was for your blog! If they knew I’m sure they’d have been nicer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Hey Phil! Hhhhmm, I wonder if that would have made a difference? Have you ever been to downtown Chicago during the holidays? *grin* Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Phil Taylor says:

        Nope, not during the holidays

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        I think people are a wee bit short of patience at this time of the year, Phil! Especially in downtown Chicago! 😉 xo

        Like

  3. Erika Kind says:

    Those decorations are simply amazing! So many details!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Aren’t they beautiful, Erika? I stood there and just stared and stared! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erika Kind says:

        I hear you! If I was there we would have stood together… lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. seaangel4444 says:

        Most definitely we would, Erika! Cher xo

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful display, Cher, and well done for parting the Christmas shoppers. You did a good job. I have a few Macy’s baubles on the tree.
    Merry Christmas 🎄
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you, dear Hugh! Oh do you? How lovely!! And a very Merry Christmas to you too, my dear! Big hugs across the pond! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. GP Cox says:

    I used to work at Macy’s, so now I just….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Oh did you, GP? That is very cool! Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I felt the magic dear Cher.. and that is a wonderful display. 🙂 Thank you my friend for your recent visit I so appreciated your comment and well wishes.
    Sending you much Love for a wonderful Festive Holiday..
    Happy Christmas and sending love and Peace for 2017…
    Hugs to you Sue xxx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      Ah, bless! Thank you so much, dear Sue! I am sending you tons of healing energy and light!! Happy Christmas and a wonderful 2017! Lots of love, Cher xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bless you Cher… Sometimes emotional baggage gets buried and so it needed bringing back up so I could jettison it once and for all.. I so appreciate the Energy.. Many MANY Thanks again Cher.. xxx

        Like

  7. annetbell says:

    Sad news about so many Macy’s closing and workers losing their jobs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. seaangel4444 says:

      It certainly is; Macy’s is my favorite store! Cher xo

      Like

Please share your thoughts with us!

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Maritime Mac

Go Explore

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Isaiah 40: 31 But they who wait upon the Lord will get new strength. They will rise up with wings like eagles. They will run and not get tired. They will walk and not become weak..

Las Vegas Photoblog

Capturing The Other Las Vegas

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

Women Diaries07

Proud to be a Woman

Planet Simon

A blog about life, the universe and some things that happen in it...

words and music and stories

Let's recollect our emotions in tranquillity

Dean J. Baker - Poetry, and prose poems

SHARING THE POEMS SO YOU'LL BE INSPIRED TO OWN..My books: https://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

